Aki Sushi, Port Monmouth

I’ve been sad lately that my favorite sushi place, Oishi Sushi, closed down a few weeks ago. Since then I tried Osho in Hazlet, which was just not up to par. But then I saw another place, Aki Sushi, in Port Monmouth, that caught my eye. I had run in one day to grab a menu and gave it a quick glance and thought it looked nice inside.

As I took a look at the menu, the first thing that got me excited was that they had brown rice as an option. Now I know you die-hard sushi fans will turn up your nose, but being health-conscious, white carbs are not in my diet. And it’s rare to find a place (like Oishi) that offers brown rice.

What I also noticed on their take-out menu was that they have a Sunday Brunch for $15.95, all-you-can-eat. Well….I figured I try it out since that seemed like a good deal. And I was pleasantly surprised. There is no walk-up buffet with sushi rolls sitting out there for hours. In fact, it was the opposite, fresh rolls made upon your request.

There were about five appetizers, four soups and salads and about twenty rolls to choose from. And of course, two desserts.

You can keep ordering as much as you want and it’s made to order. We started with the fried calamari served with a soy teriyaki sauce, which was pretty good. Also, some beef gyoza and shrimp shumai. All good. Also, had the miso soup, which was pleasantly not as salty as most joints serve.

As for rolls, I had a tuna roll, orange dragon (salmon tempura and avocado inside, fresh salmon outside), and a sweet potato tempura roll. All very good. The husband had four rolls, can’t remember which kind, but he ate it all up. Additionally, for .25 cents per roll, I had them make my rolls with brown rice.

To finish it up, we order the cheesecake tempura, sinfully good. The other option was banana tempura.

All in all, it was a good experience. The ambiance was neat, clean, and inviting. The staff was friendly, quick, and accommodating. It was an extremely good value and I would definitely go back. Check out my friend Mel’s blog, SableMinded on my blogroll. She just did a review of Aki also.

How did it compare to Oishi? Oishi still was the better place, but since they are gone….sigh….I am ready to head back to Aki Sushi.

Aki Sushi, Route 36, Port Monmouth

7 Comments »

  1. Melissa said

    CHEESECAKE, mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. We need to go the CF in Freehold. One of the best, even though you’ll say it’s a chain ;-)>

  2. foodiedani said

    whats cf?

  3. Melissa said

    Cheesecake Factory 🙂

  4. foodiedani said

    well, i actually don’t really even like cheesecake to be honest with you, plus the whole lactose issue, haha.

    but cheesecake factory. oh no girl. i went there once several years ago, not by choice, and i hated it. you know how i feel about chains….

  5. Melissa said

    I know, I know, but still—the food at the Freehold one is really not that bad. And there are a few other “cakes” on the menu that are fabulous. Then again . . . FUNNY BONES are always amazing, too.

  6. The orange dragon roll sounds amazing! It sucks when one of your favorite places closes… glad you found a suitable replacement! 🙂

    BTW, I agree with you on the CF issue. Nasty. It’s a chain, the food doens’t match the (tacky) decor. It’s felt like an Applebees on steroids the one time I went there. Boo.

  7. foodiedani said

    I found out the other place closed because the rent got too high. so sad.

    applebees on steriods, haha, love it!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

