And I’m back…

Happy New Year everyone. Thank you for understanding the lack of posts and most especially for all of the kinds words. So an update. My brother is now in a rehab hospital. Slowly healing. Don’t want to go into much further details than that though.

Back to the food…As soon as I upload some pics off my camera, I have some recipe and restaurant reviews I had been meaning to post. But for now….

News Bits and Bites!

First the sad news…my favorite sushi place, Oishi Sushi has shut its doors. I’ve posted multiple times on here about how wonderful they were. I know they weren’t always busy but I guess I didn’t realize how unbusy they were. I had my last meal there on New Year’s Eve. We ordered some takeout and not only was every table taken but there was a line to get a table. That weekend they closed. No warning. I will truly miss them. And if Chef Mark plans on opening a new place or going somewhere he needs to tell me because I am going to miss his Mark Roll!!

I’ve tried another sushi place since then. Osho in Hazlet. It was pretty bad. I won’t be returning. Very fatty salmon sashimi. Tuna tartare that had an odd taste. Just not even comparable to Oishi. I’ve gotten some feedback on Aligado in Hazlet and Sono in Middletown as being very good. I’ve had Sono a few times and it is very good, but a bit far. I am trying Aki Sushi in Port Monmouth this weekend for their brunch buffet. Heard that was also very good.

I also had a pretty decent cheeseburger last night at Marina Diner in Belford. The ONLY diner near me open 24 hours.

Had another fabulous meal at Drew’s Bayshore Bistro a few weeks ago.  Thoroughly enjoyed his flatbread and his short ribs. Man. They just melted in your mouth. Also, had the Tomahawk Steak for Two at Trinity recently (not by myself!!). This very well might be the BEST steak I’ve ever had. PERIOD. It reminds me of a Fred Flinstone steak.  Both Drew’s and Trinity’s (which I’ve reviewed both here before) are in Keyport. Why aren’t you eating at my two favorite places?!?!

I have a kick-ass recipe for spaghetti carbonara to post soon as well. Can you believe I had never eaten that stuff until last year? Anything with pancetta in it pretty much wins me over.

That’s all for now folks!

9 Comments »

  1. Lauren said

    Don’t forget your amazing dinner at Buddakan! 🙂

  2. thymegoesby said

    Welcome back & Happy New Year to you too! You’ve been missed.

  3. Jadeane said

    Welcome back! HNY to you too! You’ve been missed.. carbonara..yum!

  4. ppparent said

    Great to have you back Dani. My prayers for a speedy recovery are with your brother.

    I have yet to make it to Drew’s and I really have to. I need to do a review for JerseyBites and would like it to be a good one. 😉

    I just made a sausage and pancetta chili on Friday. The recipe is on JB if you’re interested. Turned out pretty tasty and very hearty.

    Take care of yourself. Hopefully we’ll be able to meet up soon in Keyport.

  5. Melissa said

    I just made carbonara on Home Cook’s birthday last week, and posted about it. She’s the one that introduced me to it, last year. SO good right?

    Sorry to hear about Oishi. I remember you always raving about that place.

    And many warm and healing thoughts to you, and to your brother. I know it can’t be easy. ♥

  6. Melissa said

    FINALLY, my fav foodie is back! Lady, there are a few places we need to hit up.

  7. desmone007 said

    I can’t wait to see your recipe for Spaghetti Carbonara! I’d like to invite you to share your recipe with us at Foodista. We also have small embeddable widgets that can help you build traffic from Foodista related pages. To learn more check it out here at http://www.foodista.com/static/blogger%20tools

  8. Melissa said

    ps: Aki is wonderful, I love their Ocean Roll. Is Osho the place on Route 35 North? If it is, I’ve had it, too. Wasn’t that impressed, but they always seem busy. There’s a great place in Middletown on 35 South that I can’t remember the name of, but will check.

  9. foodiedani said

    thank you all for the kind words. Yes, I have a review of Buddakan with pics to review. And one of Aki Sushi.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

