Sweeeeeet Squash, an explaination, and an anniversary…

I know. I totally suck. I haven’t posted since Halloween. I’m sure my regular readers are wondering what’s up. So I’ll tell ya. I started my new job back in September and it’s going good but there is a TON of work and I am often working and/or on the weekend so I barely have time to breathe, let alone write. But I was feeling guilty about my little blog, especially considering this month The Average Cook celebrates it’s second birthday. That’s right, my poor, little neglected baby is two years old. Wow. That’s a lot of posts. And readers. And terrible pictures!! In fact, the other day I had my highest views for any given day! I was just short of 600 views for one day!!! Pretty cool. Thanks to all of my readers, new and old, for reading and posting.

Now onto the food….I thought this would be a good recipe for you all for Turkey Day, I mean Thanksgiving!! I love all sorts of squash, but acorn squash is extra special because you can almost make a dessert out of it! This is a nice little, easy Fall dish. Hope you like it.

Roasted Sweet Acorn Squash

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Slice acorn squash in half and place on roasting sheet coated with coating spray. Also, coast squash with spray. Bake for about 45 minutes to one hour until squash is soft. In the last five minutes, add 1/2 tsp. butter, 1/2 tsp. brown sugar, 1 tsp. raisins or cranberries, and 1/2 tsp. sliver almonds or pecans to each half. Make one half squash for for each person.

img_1488

4 Comments »

  1. Melissa said

    Happy two years! A nice accomplishment. Sorry you haven’t been able to be around, but glad to hear you have a busy new job.

    Happy (belated) Thanksgiving, Dani!

  2. Happy 2nd Blog Birthday! Glad to see a new post from you and hope you had a nice Thanksgiving!

  3. Emily said

    Congratulations on TWO YEARS! I’ve enjoyed your receipes and look forward to new and fabulous entries in 2009.

    Love,
    Auntie

  4. foodiedani said

    Thank you everyone

    Dani

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

