Sweet Corn Succotash

So I’ve become a bit of a farmer’s market addict this summer. If I don’t make it to my local market in Keyport, NJ every Thursday, I’m thrown off. Luckily, the same vendors all attend another farmer’s market the next day in another nearby town, Atlantic Highlands. I’ve found myself trying lots of new fruits and vegetables this year as the selection is vast and economically fantastic. Everything I’ve bought over the last couple of months was wonderful. One of the new items I’ve tried on for size was okra. Now I’ve eaten okra at restaurants but I’ve never bought or prepared it myself. I couldn’t pass it up one day as it was a bagful for $1.00! I just so happened to notice that my current issue of Food & Wine I had lying around had a recipe with okra in it. Perfect!  I found this delicious recipe in the August 2008 issue of Food & Wine. In addition to the okra, it also made use of the fabulous sweet corn and beautiful heirloom tomatoes I purchased at the farmer’s market. The only changes I made to this were using frozen peas instead of fresh (just couldn’t find them) and Canadian bacon instead of regular (health-conscious choice). I absolutely loved this recipe! What a great, quick and easy summer side dish. I enjoyed it so much I just picked up some more corn and okra yesterday at my farmer’s market!

Overall rating – 5 stars

Sweet Corn Succotash

TOTAL TIME: 45 MIN
4 SIDE-DISH SERVINGS
Birmingham, Alabama, chef Chris Hastings of Hot and Hot Fish Club uses fresh field peas, like black-eyed peas, in his succotash, but green peas are nicely sweet.
ingredients
  • 2 cups fresh green peas
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 1 thick slice of bacon, finely diced
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 pound okra, sliced 1/2 inch thick
  • 3 medium tomatoes—peeled, seeded and coarsely chopped
  • 3 ears of corn, kernels cut off
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup slivered basil leaves
directions
  1. In a large pot of boiling salted water, cook the peas until tender, 5 minutes. Drain, reserving 3/4 cup of the cooking liquid.
  2. In a deep skillet, heat the oil. Add the bacon and cook over moderately high heat, until browned. Add the onion and cook until just softened. Add the okra and cook for 8 minutes. Add the tomatoes and corn and cook until the tomatoes break down. Add the peas with the cooking liquid and season with salt and pepper. Simmer for 2 minutes. Stir in the butter and basil; serve.
7 Comments »

  1. Looks great!

    What did you serve it with?

    Not sure why they used canola oil in the recipe though, the bacon should render enough fat to saute the veggies or even just a little EVO. (since ya used canadian bacon)

    I’m not looking forward to when I can no longer get NJ Heirlooms this year. Thinking about canning or freezing some for a mid-winter fix.

  2. foodiedani said

    Thanks! I served this with some grilled chicken, nothing too exciting!

    With the canadian bacon you would definitely need some oil. Though I see your point with regular bacon rendering enough grease for it.

    I thought about canning and then I saw the work involved 🙂

    Dani

  3. Jon said

    This looks great. Very colorful!

  4. Susan said

    Love the fresh produce at the stands! I got some amazing local white peaches in Clifton last week. Thank God NJ still is The Garden State despite all the development. Great dish, Dani. I would not have thought to have okra in succotash, but I can tell it works. : )

  5. foodiedani said

    Thanks Jon!

    Hi Susan!

    White peaches, yum! I”ve bought them too at my market. Yes, the okra definitely worked here!

    Dani

  6. Jadeane said

    This looks wonderful! I haven’t had succotash in years.. but I will be trying this over the weekend!

  7. foodiedani said

    Hi Jadeane

    Thank you! I made it again and used lima beans instead of peas. Still great!

    Dani

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

