Fava Beans, Broccoli and Tomatoes with Pesto and Pasta

Sorry for the lack of posting. A lot has been going on lately that has deterred from my writing here. I hope you, my dear readers, will forgive me. First of all, the very good news. I got a new job. Finally. I’ve been unhappy since last April when I was laid off from my corporate communications job that I loved at a company I loved. I spent a year doing financial editing which just wasn’t my thing. I’m happy to say I’ve found a job working back in my field.

Secondly, I had to give up my ballroom dance instructor job. I just couldn’t get there three nights a week anymore and quite frankly, I wasn’t enjoying teaching as much as I enjoyed being a student. And lastly, I took on a few, heavy duty volunteer positions with my sorority, including writing for our national magazine. So my priorities haven’t been focused much on the blog and I apologize. I have been thinking about the blog though. I’m still cooking and taking pictures, I just need to get around to posting!

So, because of all of the craziness lately, finding quick meals like this one are awesome. The inspiration for this meal came from this recipe from the August 2008 issue of Cooking Light. I had to make a lot of changes to make this work because of my supplies and because I felt like it. So there. Haha.  Here’s what I had to change or add:

*I only had about a cup and a half of fava beans (frozen), so I added some fresh broccoli from my local farmer’s market.

*I did not have enough basil (my mini-me garden is thriving EXCEPT my sad basil) to make my pesto so I substituted some parsley.

*I used whole wheat pasta since I don’t eat “white” pasta during the week.

*I used a can of diced tomatoes and some fresh heirlooms from the farmer’s market.

I also drizzled with some extra virgin olive oil before serving. This was a great meal, it was filling and the flavors all blended together beautifully. My only complaint was I wished I had made more pesto with it.
Overall rating – 4.5 stars

Fava Beans with Pesto and Cavatappi


Pasta is a dry ingredient that becomes water-rich when cooked. This vegetarian main dish shows off summer-fresh fava beans. If you can’t find them, substitute fresh lima beans or even thawed frozen edamame.

2 pounds unshelled fava beans (about 3 cups shelled)
1 cup fresh basil leaves (about 1 ounce)
1/4 cup chopped fresh mint
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 garlic clove, minced
3 tablespoons extravirgin olive oil
1 pound uncooked cavatappi pasta
1/2 cup grape tomatoes, halved
1/2 cup (2 ounces) grated fresh Parmesan cheese

1. Remove beans from pods; discard pods. Cook beans in boiling water 1 minute. Drain and rinse with cold water; drain. Remove outer skins from beans; discard skins.

2. Combine basil and next 5 ingredients (through garlic) in a food processor; process until smooth. With processor on, slowly pour oil through food chute, and process until well blended.

3. Cook pasta according to package directions, omitting salt and fat; drain. Combine pasta and basil mixture in a large bowl, tossing to coat. Add beans and tomatoes, tossing to combine. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese.

Yield:  8 servings (serving size: about 1 1/4 cups pasta and 1 tablespoon cheese)CALORIES 335 (24% from fat); FAT 8.9g (sat 1.9g,mono 4.7g,poly 1.5g); IRON 4.1mg; CHOLESTEROL 46mg; CALCIUM 116mg; CARBOHYDRATE 51.9g; SODIUM 411mg; PROTEIN 17.3g; FIBER 2.7g

Cooking Light, AUGUST 2008

8 Comments »

  1. sambycat said

    looks delicious, but i bet it does not ship as well as, say, fudge. CONGRATS on the job and your new writing gigs! keep up with the cha cha dancing on your own time, i know you will!!!!

    hugs!!!!!!!! wheeeeeee!!!!!!

  2. foodiedani said

    hello there miss sambycat…

    alas this doesn’t ship as well as delicious cape may fudge huh?

    thanks for your kind words darlin….

    oh and did you now you were nominated for hot blogger calendar??

    dani

  3. Leticia said

    That looks really good.

  4. foodiedani said

    well thank you very much miss leticia!

    dani

  5. chocolateshavings said

    That looks like a great recipe!

  6. foodiedani said

    thanks chocolate!

  7. melissa said

    Congratulations on the new job! It’s nice to feel like you’re doing what truly suits you. Best wishes all the way around.

  8. foodiedani said

    Thanks for the well wishes Melissa!

    Dani

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

