Chicken Shawarma

I can’t even pronounce this dish, but dang it was tasty! It’s from the July 2008 issue of Cooking Light. I’m not a huge fan of curry but this was surprisingly tasty even with the pronounced taste of the curry. The chicken was very moist (despite me being too lazy to fire up the grill and just saute-ing the chicken) and full of flavor. I was also so not threading this chicken on a skewer. That’s just way too time consuming for me. I just sauted the chicken in full breast form and then sliced when serving. Now…the sauce….mmm…a few issues with this. First, I thought I had purchased plain Greek yogurt but alas, it was vanilla so that wasn’t going to work. However, I always keep plain, fat-free yogurt on-hand so that went into it instead. Secondly, my A&P, which is completely remodeled and fancy did not carry tahini!!! So I used natural peanut butter instead. The sauce was very good, but I think unnecessary. It took away from the flavors in the chicken. I’d used the sauce on plain, grilled chicken though.

As a side I make a quick veggie salad. I used some frozen (yes, that’s right, frozen) mixed veggies (cooked and then rinsed under cold water) and threw in some red onions, tomatoes, and fresh parsley, tossed it with olive oil, lemon juice, red wine vinegar, salt and pepper. Pretty good I must say for something I threw together on the fly.

Overall: Chicken – 4 stars, Sauce – 3.5 stars, Veggie Salad – 3 stars

Chicken Shawarma


Shawarma is a Middle Eastern dish of garlicky meat or poultry served on pitas. Total time: 45 minutes.


Chicken:
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon curry powder
2 teaspoons extravirgin olive oil
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breast, cut into 16 (3-inch) stripsSauce:
1/2 cup plain 2% reduced-fat Greek yogurt (such as Fage)
2 tablespoons tahini
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 garlic clove, mincedRemaining ingredients:
Cooking spray
4 (6-inch) pitas
1 cup chopped romaine lettuce
8 (1/4-inch-thick) tomato slices

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. Preheat grill to medium-high heat.

 

 

 

Yield:  4 servingsCALORIES 384 (23% from fat); FAT 9.8g (sat 2.1g,mono 4.1g,poly 2.7g); IRON 4.3mg; CHOLESTEROL 64mg; CALCIUM 106mg; CARBOHYDRATE 40g; SODIUM 821mg; PROTEIN 34.4g; FIBER 2.5g

 

Cooking Light, JULY 2008

2. To prepare chicken, combine first 6 ingredients in a medium bowl. Add chicken to bowl; toss well to coat. Let stand at room temperature 20 minutes.

3. To prepare sauce, combine yogurt and next 4 ingredients (through 1 garlic clove), stirring with a whisk.

4. Thread 2 chicken strips onto each of 8 (12-inch) skewers. Place kebabs on a grill rack coated with cooking spray; grill 4 minutes on each side or until done.

5. Place pitas on grill rack; grill 1 minute on each side or until lightly toasted. Place 1 pita on each of 4 plates; top each serving with 1/4 cup lettuce and 2 tomato slices. Top each serving with 4 chicken pieces; drizzle each serving with 2 tablespoons sauce.

6 Comments »

  1. Melissa L. said

    This looks AMAZING! Yummy!

  2. foodiedani said

    thanks melissa! like my plating??

    dani

  3. Melissa L. said

    It is stunning, SO appetizing. Instead of going to lunch, I’m just sitting here salivating at the screen. We have to make this one day!!!!

  4. foodiedani said

    you’re too sweet! get your bum to lunch!

    dani

  5. melissa said

    I thought this looked awesome from the get go. I love the vegetable mix you put together too. I might jot down the chicken recipe on this. Great one, Dani.

  6. foodiedani said

    Thanks Melissa! Yeah, the veggie mix, one of the few things I’ve thrown together on my own, lol!

    Dani

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

