Polenta with stuff…

Seriously, the title of this recipe is too long (Two-Corn Polenta with Tomatoes, Basil and Cheese) so I condensed it for the blog title (I know how clever and witty – “stuff”??). Now if you’ve ever eaten polenta, you know that you usually need “stuff” in it or on top of it to make it better as it really is bland. I enjoy eating and making polenta because it’s quick and easy to make and it’s not a bad choice nutriontally.  This recipe was a pretty good alternative to your standard polenta recipe. It’s a good summer recipe where you can utilize the bounty of the warm months – fresh corn, fragrant basil, ripe tomatoes…I will admit I did use frozen corn this time as I find cutting corn off the cob too time consuming. I did use basil from my mini-me garden.  Overall, this made a quick, easy, tasty sidedish and is perfect with some grilled chicken or sausages (or grilled pork and green beans as Cooking Light suggests).

Overall rating – 3 stars

 Two-Corn Polenta with Tomatoes, Basil, and Cheese


Corn kernels and polenta layer texture and flavor in this dish. Serve with green beans and grilled pork.
2 teaspoons olive oil
2 cups chopped onion (2 medium)
4 cups fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
2 cups fresh corn kernels (about 2 ears)
2 garlic cloves, chopped
1 cup instant dry polenta
1/2 cup (2 ounces) grated fresh Parmesan cheese
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 cup chopped tomato
1/2 cup chopped fresh basil
1. Heat oil in a Dutch oven over medium heat. Add onion to pan; cook 8 minutes or until tender, stirring occasionally. Stir in broth, corn, and garlic; bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 5 minutes. Slowly add polenta, stirring with a whisk until polenta is thick (about 5 minutes). Add cheese, stirring to melt. Stir in salt and pepper. Remove from heat; sprinkle with tomato and basil. Serve immediately.

 

Yield:  7 servings (serving size: about 1 cup)CALORIES 194 (20% from fat); FAT 4.3g (sat 1.5g,mono 1.8g,poly 0.4g); IRON 1.1mg; CHOLESTEROL 6mg; CALCIUM 134mg; CARBOHYDRATE 31.6g; SODIUM 457mg; PROTEIN 8.9g; FIBER 4.6g

 

Cooking Light, JUNE 2008

 http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=1809102

7 Comments »

  1. Melissa L. said

    Dani, this looks delicious! I hope you saved some 😉 I want to see this ‘mini-me’ garden, sounds awesome! Great pic too.

  2. foodiedani said

    Hi Melissa!

    my mini-me garden is three pots of herbs! haha

    thanks, my first decent pic in a long time!

    Dani

  3. sambycat said

    that looks so yummy!!! please send some to me now!

  4. foodiedani said

    you sure you don’t want some couscous my dear?

    xoxo
    dani

  5. polenta is so tasty and that dish looks very good!

  6. foodiedani said

    I love polenta and this one really made it delicious!

    Dani

  7. I always want to try making polenta, but it’s so bland on its own that I need a good recipe for add-ins and toppings. This looks like a great summer dish!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

