Smoked Garlic Steak

A few years ago I heard about this small business out in California that sold smoked garlic. I want to say I heard it/saw it on The Food Network. They showed the owners processes for smoking garlic and even salt. I immediately went to their website and ordered smoked garlic and smoked salt. And I’m happy to report I’ve been a satisfied customer for a few years now. If you like smoky flavors then you’ll love their products.

My favorite way to use the smoked salt is on fresh corn on the cob. It really brings out the flavors of the corn with the smokiness. The smoked garlic has come in handy many ways. I’ve used it in crab cakes, in chicken dishes, mixed with butter, and most recently, as a steak rub. I took about 7-8 garlic cloves and diced them very fine and then rubbed them with some of the smoked salt and freshly ground pepper over a London Broil. I also topped it with some extra virgin olive oil. Then onto to the grill. It was fabulous, smoky, garlicky. You can see some of the carmelized garlic on top. Loved it.

Check out Smokin’ Garlic here to order some garlic, salt or some of their other products.

Overall rating – 5 stars

6 Comments »

  1. Yum, Iove everything smokey. I will be ordering both the salt and garlic. Sounds delicious. Costco does a “Sweet Mesquite Rub” that is excellent on ribs, pork shoulder, well just about anywhere you want a smokey flavor.

  2. foodiedani said

    Hey Deb,

    You must post a recipe on your blog once you get the items!

    I’ll have to check out that rub at Costco… sounds delicious!

    Dani

  3. Jonathan said

    interesting! why the heck have i never heard of smoked salt? smoked garlic? wtf!? i feel like you’ve just opened up a whole new world for me!

  4. foodiedani said

    Hey Jonathan,

    Thanks for stopping by! If you order, you must post on your blog about it! This stuff is awesome!!!

    Dani

  5. chefectomy said

    Thanks for the tip, the beef looks delish. I live in CA but have never heard of this condiment although I bet the product comes from Gilroy, CA (self proclaimed Garlic Capital of the World).

    Side note, I quickly glanced at your name and thought it was “Foodini”, sort of caught me in a funny way…

    –Marc

  6. foodiedani said

    Hey Marc,

    your welcome! hope you get a chance to try it.

    foodini, i like it! haha

    dani

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

