Herbed Turkey Burgers

Using ground turkey can be a challenge as it can very easily dry out during the cooking process and due to the low fat content (I use almost fat-free) it really needs help in the seasoning department. Because I’ve been blessed with my herbal garden (i.e. several herbs in pots on my deck), I have an abundance of various herbs I need to start using. I came up, with what I think, is a perfect turkey burger recipe – moist, flavorful, and tasty.

What strikes me as odd when I make turkey burgers as opposed to ground beef burgers is how different I treat them. With ground beef, I simply use sea salt and freshly ground pepper. That’s it. That’s all I believe a burger needs. But with the turkey burgers, they need a little (or maybe a lot of) help.¬†Because the use of herbs in my burgers gave them some nice green coloring, I decided to carry that over into my side dish of whole wheat couscous and peas that I threw some butter, olive oil and Parmesan cheese in.

A few things I did different…I threw some horseradish cream in there for a little kick and I used a packet of instant oatmeal to bind the burgers (instead of breadcrumbs). The oatmeal is not even noticable in taste or view.

Overall ratings – Turkey burgers – 5 stars

Herbed Turkey Burgers

1 pound ground turkey breast

1 T. Dijon mustard

1 T. light mayo

1/2 T. horseradish cream

1 T. each of minced fresh parsley, rosemary, basil

1 egg

1 packet of instant oatmeal

Combine all in large bowl and gently mix. Using a non-stick skillet or grill, cook burgers about 7-8 minutes each side. Turkey burgers tend to take longer to cook than beef, so be sure they are done inside.

9 Comments »

  1. joejhorn said

    Hello, I just posted a recipe for Turkey Burgers as well. I did it on the BBQ thought. Come check them out when you have a chance and let me know what you think.

    http://cookingquest.wordpress.com

  2. foodiedani said

    Hey Joe!

    Thanks for visiting! Great site you have over there. The pics make me hungry!

    Dani

  3. Jennie said

    Thanks for this recipe! I just made my first turkey burgers and I loved them. I put minced garlic, ground ginger, soy sauce, worcestershire sauce, breadcrumbs, and green onions in them. What I like is I don’t even need cheese and they taste great. I’m going to try your recipe next!

  4. joejhorn said

    Thanks. I will come back often. I have it bookmarked!

    Joe

  5. foodiedani said

    Hi Jennie!

    Your welcome! I think I made a version like your before, very Asian-inspired flavors. I agree, no cheese!! Let us know if you make this recipe!

    Joe-

    Got ya on my blogroll!

    Dani

  6. melissa said

    Those look wonderful Dani. Steve told me a long time ago that he would absolutely eat turkey burgers, which surprised me, so I need to make them. And anything you give 5 stars to… well damn, I’m adding it to my list for SURE. Very nice.

  7. foodiedani said

    Thanks Melissa! Yeah, you know those 5 stars don’t come out often. I surprised myself with this one. Let me know how they turn out! Ground turkey is a tricky one!

    Dani

  8. Bill said

    This sounds great. My wife is always wanting me to use grown turkey and I have to admit I balk at it. I have an herb garden resource as well. I have an abundance of sage and I think that a combo of sage and thyme would make the burger taste like a thanksgiving dinner. yum!

  9. foodiedani said

    Hey Bill,

    Sage and thyme! I have them both in my garden. Next time I’m trying that. Thanks for suggestion!

    Dani

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

