Mojo Pork Chops…Yeah baby!

When I read the name of this recipe I had to giggle. All I could think of was my favorite shagadelic Brit, Austin Powers, “yeah baby!” Remember? Austin Powers lost his “mojo…” hehe….

Anyways….I love me some Cuban food. Give me a Cubano sandwich any day and I’m a happy girl. However, I’ve never really made any Cuban food. Don’t know why since I enjoy it so much… But when I saw this awesome recipe in my weekly newsletter from Serious Eats I had to make it. That pic looked so appetizing (unlike most of mine…sigh…). It’s a very quick marinade that is also used as a sauce once the pork chops are done. The flavors were fresh and delicious and I’m sure this would have tasted even better if I had grilled the pork chops. I can see myself using this Mojo Sauce for chicken, seafood, even vegetables. I seriously wanted to drink it, it was so good. Call me silly, but what I also really liked about the Mojo Sauce was the color. It was creamy and slightly lime green and looked fabulous on top of the pork chops. I served this with some roasted red potatoes topped with the Mojo Sauce.

Overall rating – 5 stars

http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2008/04/grilled-pork-chops-marinated-in-mojo-recipe.html

Grilled Pork Chops Marinated in Mojo

– serves 2 –
Adapted from Our Latin Table

Ingredients

2 thick-cut pork chops, preferable bone-in, about 1 pound total
5 cloves garlic
5 tablespoons olive oil
Juice of 1 juicing orange
Juice of 2 limes
1/8 teaspoon cumin
1 1/2 T dried oregano

Salt and pepper to taste

Procedure

1.In a small food processor or blender, puree the garlic, oregano, olive oil, lime juice, cumin, pinch of salt and pepper, and all but 1/4 cup of the orange juice. Adjust the seasoning if necessary, and reserve a couple tablespoons of the mojo sauce (for spreading on the chops post-cooking).

2.In a non-reactive bowl, whisk the mojo sauce with the remaining orange juice. Add the pork chops, cover with plastic, and marinate in the liquid for as long as you can bear, at least 20 minutes, even better, two hours. Turn occasionally.

3.Heat a cast iron skillet with a film of oil, or a grill pan, until very hot. Cook the chops to desired doneness, 5-7 minutes per side for medium.

4.Spoon reserved mojo over the chops and serve.

10 Comments »

  1. […] The Average Cook makes Mojo Pork Chops. […]

  2. Yum. This one I will be trying. I have never had very good luck with Pork Chops but my Boyfriend is a wizard with the grill and I am finally getting what everyone is talking about when it comes to pork chops.

  3. foodiedani said

    Hey Deb,

    I’d hadn’t had much luck with pork chops either, but I think this was the first time I ever marinated them. They were awesome, and like I said, I’m thinking even better grilled next time.

    Dani

  4. melissa said

    that sauce – what a great find dani. this will go onto my list for sure. nice!!

  5. I tried this too, and I liked it. But, I think if I made it again, I’d use fresh oregano.

  6. foodiedani said

    Hey Lost In Wonder,

    Glad you liked it. I wondered why they hadn’t used fresh oregano in it? I think I’ll try fresh next time as well. Fresh herbs are always better than dried…

    Dani

  7. Sophie said

    We would like to feature this recipe on our blog. Please email sophiekiblogger@gmail.com if interested. Thanks 🙂

  8. melissa said

    and 3 months later…

    I finally made these this week. I could have put that marinade in a cup and drank it, it was so good. 😛

    Thanks for this. I did see it on Serious Eats when they first posted it, but didn’t really think to put it on my recipe list until you did it. I will use this again for sure. Maybe with chicken next time.

  9. foodiedani said

    Melissa!

    Thanks for reminding me about this fabulous recipe! I’d almost forgotten how much I enjoyed it! Must make it again! Soon!

    Dani

  10. Jessica said

    hey guys i’m busy as most people are these days so if your looking for a good way to skip some of the prep work on this one but keep your flavor your can buy Mojo ( i use badja brand) already made in the Latino area of most food stores! and its much cheaper than the other types of marinade you can buy

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

