Pesto Shrimp Pasta

Did you ever buy something at the grocery store with the intentions to use it for a recipe and then completely forget what recipe it was for? This happens quite often to me and the latest instance was a bunch of basil. I can’t remember what I was going to make with it, but it was approaching a week old and I knew I needed to use it. Since I am sooooooo creative, I decided on pesto. Pesto with what though? I knew I needed it to be something quick as I had a softball game that night (oh, the bruise I have from that game from diving head first back to first base…) and I knew I’d probably want to carb up afterwards. But pesto and pasta, just too simple. Give me something else.

So I made my way to the grocery store and hit up the seafood counter. The colossal shrimp were looking lovely so I grabbed a pound of those. But still needed something else. I started scouting the produce and ended up with some shallots, grape tomatoes, and zucchini. Ok…this might work…

The pesto recipe I used was Giada DeLaurentis’ recipe that I’ve posted here before. It’s quick and simple and delicious. I used whole wheat linguine and threw the rest together for a fast, yummy, healthy meal.

Overall rating – 5 stars

Pesto Shrimp Pasta

Giada DeLaurentis Basil Pesto

 1/2 pound whole wheat linguine

1 pound colossal shrimp, cleaned

3/4 c grape tomatoes, cut in half

2 shallots, diced fine

2 small zucchini, diced

olive oil

Prepare Basil Pesto, set aside. Meanwhile, bring water to a boil and cook pasta accordingly. Coat pan with 1-2T of olive oil, add zucchini and shallots over medium high heat until slightly caramelized. Add shrimp and tomatoes and more olive oil if necessary. Cook several minutes until shrimp are cooked through and turn pink. Using a large bowl, combine pasta, pesto, and shrimp and vegetables and gently toss to combine and serve.

Servings 3-4

 

3 Comments »

  1. That looks really good! Way to be a kitchen innovator! I am a fan of pasta with just about anything. 🙂

  2. foodiedani said

    Thanks BC&B!

    Pasta is good stuff no matter how ya make it!

    Dani

  3. Sophie said

    I’m Sophie, Key Ingredient’s Chief Blogger. We would like to feature this recipe on our blog. Please email sophiekiblogger@gmail.com if interested. Thanks 🙂

    Sophie
    http://blog.keyingredient.com/

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

