Pasta with Broccoli Rabe

So my cooking has really taken a back-seat lately…Between working my full-time “9 to 5” job and then working my part-time job 3 to 4 nights a week, I rarely have any time to cook anymore. And those nights I can cook? Well, I just want to get something on the table quick since I’m usually exhausted. This dish was perfect for just that – Pasta with Broccoli Rabe and Caramelized Garlic from the April 2008 issue of Cooking Light. It was super-quick and pretty tasty. Not mouth-watering-I-want-to-lick-the-bowl-when-I’m-done, but it sufficed.

Of course, you’ll notice right away from the recipe it calls for gnocchi. Don’t get me wrong, I love me some gnocchi. I even learned how to make them when I was a wee child with my grandmother. But my JLo behind needs to stay away from them during the week. Hence, the usage of whole wheat pasta… Overall, a simple dish that will work when you are short on time.

My buddy over at Black Coffee & Bourbon made a similiar recipe recently. He added sausage. Now that would have made it a hell of a lot tastier!

Overall rating – 3 stars 

Gnocchi with Broccoli Rabe, Caramelized Garlic, and Parmesan


Keep an eye on the garlic to be sure it browns but doesn’t burn, which can make it unpleasantly bitter. Blanching the broccoli rabe helps tame its bitterness. Total time: 25 minutes.


3/4 pound broccoli rabe (rapini), trimmed
1 (16-ounce) box vacuum-packed gnocchi (such as Vigo)
2 tablespoons olive oil
4 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper
1/4 cup (1 ounce) shredded Parmesan cheese

 

 

 

 

 

2. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add garlic to pan; cook 3 minutes or until lightly browned, stirring frequently. Add broccoli rabe, gnocchi, and reserved cooking liquid to pan; cook 2 minutes. Stir in salt and pepper. Place 1 1/4 cups gnocchi mixture in each of 4 shallow bowls; top each serving with 1 tablespoon cheese.

 

Yield:  4 servings CALORIES 281 (28% from fat); FAT 8.7g (sat 2.2g,mono 5.6g,poly 0.8g); PROTEIN 9.9g; CHOLESTEROL 5mg; CALCIUM 134mg; SODIUM 806mg; FIBER 0.1g; IRON 0.9mg; CARBOHYDRATE 41.8g

1. Cook broccoli rabe in boiling water 4 minutes. Remove broccoli rabe with a slotted spoon, and place in a colander; drain. Add gnocchi to pan; cook 3 minutes or until done. Drain gnocchi in a colander over a bowl, reserving 1/4 cup cooking liquid. 

6 Comments »

  1. Sausage makes every dish better! Too bad finding good Italian sausage is next to impossible where I live.

    Our recipes were identical except for the sausage. I guess that would make it ineligble for inclusion in the Cooking Light magazine…

  2. foodiedani said

    But see, I would use turkey sausage!!! And it would be ok for Cooking Light!!

    My chef friend is making a vomiting face as I write this as we just had the discussion last week of how gross he thinks turkey sausage is.

  3. Turkey sausage? I have never had it. Maybe it would be good in it! You should try it and let me know! 🙂

  4. foodiedani said

    I use turkey sausage all the time. It’s sweet Italian flavored. I like it because it’s leaner and not as greasy as regular sausage which my stomach seriously can’t take. It can get dried out if you overcook it though. Try it! You can probably find it in the poultry section of your supermarket.

  5. sambycat said

    another delicious looking recipe. i like your substitution. question – do you NOT eat the whole thing cause your hubby is there or do you have that much self control?!!? i’m always reticent to cook for myself – though it is so enjoyable and “self-caring”, if you will, because i have MAJOR portion control issues. hence my double couscous recipe was like couscous-a-palooza for 3 days then nothin’!

    mmmmmmmm cous cous..

    i subscribe to cooking light. i really like that mag and the combo of food and lifestyle. thanks for the post!

  6. foodiedani said

    Lisa,

    To answer your question – both! My husband eats a massive amount of food plus I’m pretty good with portion control. Maybe portion it out as soon as it is done, and put it away?

    Couscous-a-palooza?? lol….

    Cooking Light is a good thing, although I’ve had quite a few friends tell me “No more Cooking Light reviews!” haha!!

    Dani

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

