Tuscan Vegetable Soup

Probably my last soup for awhile due to the lovely warm weather we’ve been having here in the Garden State. This recipe, Tuscan Vegetable Soup, came from Ellie Krieger’s new cookbook that I recently purchased. It’s been hit or miss with these recipes but some are very good like this one. I love a hearty vegetable soup full of fresh, flavorful veggies. I also added some whole wheat elbows to give it more substance. Not only did I enjoy the fresh veggie flavors of this soup but I felt good eating it because it was so good for you. And it’s very quick and simple to make. What more can I ask for?

Overall rating – 3.5 stars

Tuscan Vegetable Soup

Copyright 2007, Ellie Krieger, All rights reserved

1 (15-ounce) can low-sodium canellini beans, drained and rinsed
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 large onion, diced (about 1 cup)
2 carrots, diced (about 1/2 cup)
2 stalks celery, diced, (about 1/2 cup)
1 small zucchini, diced (about 1 1/2 cups)
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme leaves (or 1 teaspoon dried)
2 teaspoons chopped fresh sage leaves (or 1/2 teaspoon dried)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
32 ounces low-sodium chicken broth or vegetable broth
1 (14.5-ounce) can no salt added diced tomatoes
2 cups chopped baby spinach leaves
1/3 cup freshly grated Parmesan, optional

 

In a small bowl mash half of the beans with a masher or the back of a spoon, and set aside.

Heat the oil in a large soup pot over medium-high heat. Add the onion, carrots, celery, zucchini, garlic, thyme, sage, 1/2 teaspoon of salt and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper, and cook stirring occasionally until the vegetables are tender, about 5 minutes.

Add the broth and tomatoes with the juice and bring to a boil. Add the mashed and whole beans and the spinach leaves and cook until the spinach is wilted, about 3 minutes more.

Serve topped with Parmesan, if desired.

Nutrition Information
Nutritional analysis per serving Calories 140
Total Fat 4 grams Saturated Fat 0.5 grams
Cholesterol 0 mg Sodium 310 mg
Carbohydrates 19 grams Protein 8 grams
Fiber 4.5 grams

 

7 Comments »

  1. sambycat said

    the last two have looked especially delicious. i say, add smell-o-vision! i’m off the next week, i’ve got to do some cooking! like you say, the weather is turning, hard to know what to make (besides stawberry shortcake!) until tomatoes are really in season (in the USA!)!

  2. Nick said

    Excellent soup, it looks like a wonderful medley of veggies. It certainly looks better than any Tuscan Vegetable Soup from an Italian restaurant I’ve been to.

    The Peanut Butter Boy

  3. melissa said

    that looks great!

    you know, I was saying on robin’s vegetable soup post the other day that weather doesn’t matter to me in terms of what I eat. in fact, I ordered some new stuff from my amazon list the other day and one was an entire book on soups. can’t wait to dive into that one. 🙂

  4. That looks very tasty!!!

    What happened to the Newfoundblog? It’s dead? Now I have to update my blogroll…. *grumble*

  5. dani said

    Lisa,

    Smell-o-vision would be awesome wouldn’t it? will you be posting what you are cooking over on your blog??? check out some of my posts from last summer and spring. you might find some warm-weather recipes….

    Nick,

    Yup, this was a keeper. I think this recipe can carry it out for a few weeks until it’s really too warm. It’s a good way to use up that produce from the farmers’ market!

    Melissa

    Can’t wait to see of your soup recipes. I’m a sucker for sup. My current fav is the Giada one I’ve posted on here – Italian Wedding Soup.

    BC&B,

    I saw that about Newfoundblog! I’m sad as I enjoyed reading that blog! I’m guessing he’s done 😦

    Dani

  6. Liz Cruciani said

    This looks yummy. I think i will try it this weekend. Another recipe, too, for zucchini, which I love! I would add some pasta too. Looks like something the kids would eat, too, which at this stage is a godsend. Hope all is well.

    cousin Liz

  7. foodiedani said

    Hi Liz!

    let us know how it turns out! And when you are guest writing again?!?

    Dani

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

