Lucky Bones Backwater Grille, Cape May, NJ

Recently, I took a little road to a sleepy town otherwise known as Atlantic City. But since AC is so close to my favorite NJ destination, Cape May, I made a pit stop there first (although CM is 30 minutes South of AC). The idea was to visit my old haunt, do some shopping, and grab a bite at one of the many restaurants in the dining capital of NJ.

There have been quite a few new restaurants opening in Cape May over the last couple of years and I wanted to try one of the new ones I’ve read some good feedback on, Lucky Bones Backwater Grille. You can’t miss this new place as you drive into the island. As soon as you come over the bridge, it’s right there on your right (across from the giant Lobster House sign).

Now, April in Cape May is the slow season. When I mean slow, I mean the traffic lights aren’t even on, they just blink. While I love summer and Christmas in CM, this is a great season to visit too. You might find some of your favorite shops or restaurants closing early, but most are still open as there are always events going on. I made sure to find out if Lucky Bones would even be open for lunch as this meal time is a hard find in the off-season. Not only was it open, but it was pretty crowded!!!

The outside is an unassuming shingle building with a cozy, local charm to it. Once inside, you first see a very nice bar and the general seating area to the right. It’s got a great look and feel to it. Casual and comfortable, but still sharp-looking. Since they advertise their brick-oven pizzas on their signage, I felt obliged to try one. So me and the old man opted for Pizza Margherita ($8.50) for our appetizer. The size is perfect for an appetizer to share or for a main entree for one person. They offer several types of pizzas. The pizza was super-thin and full of flavor. The sauce was delicious and the fresh mozzarella was great. We both thought it was awesome.  The only bad thing I have to say was that it was so thin in the middle that the very center of the pizza was slightly soggy though, but that spot was only about a bite big. I would definitely go back here and get pizza again next time I’m in CM.

For my main entree I had the Lucky Bones burger ($10.50), grilled 10 oz. with mushrooms, onions, bacon, and covered in my choice of cheese. I went for Provolone, wish it had been cheddar but didn’t see that as an option (I’m a cheddar whore, see my mac and cheese post to understand). The burger was served with a pickle, coleslaw, and fries. Let’s start with the burger, it was one of the most juiciest burgers I’ve had in a long time. I could have done without all the extras on top, despite them being very tasty. It was too much for me. Next time, I’d ask for just cheese and onions or mushrooms. The bun was ok, not too memorable, ending up eating only half of the bun. The coleslaw was good, not great. It suffered from just a tad bit too much mayo and not enough vinegar. And the fries. Mmmmm…good! They were fabulous. Overall, a good dish that I wouldn’t mind having again.

The old man order the Filet Tip Steak Sandwich ($10.50) served on a fresh kaiser stuffed with roasted peppers, caramelized onions, mushrooms, provolone, roasted garlic jus (also served with fries, pickle, and coleslaw). This was a good-looking sandwich which was completely devoured and thoroughly enjoyed.

No room for dessert this time. Service was pretty good as well. Based on how crowded it was on a Sunday afternoon in April, I’d have to imagine this place getting packed over the summer. And they do not take reservations. Next time you’re in Cape May, give Lucky Bones a try. In a town heavy with fine dining restaurants with high price tags (don’t get me wrong, love those places too), Lucky Bones is a welcome addition for a family and budget friendly dining establishment.

6 Comments »

  1. Hi Dani,

    Looks yummy. Peter and I keep talking about taking a trip down to Cape May. We’ll put this on our list.

    Can I install a feed on JerseyBites to your blog? I think the biters would benefit from your reviews.

    Deb Smith

  2. foodiedani said

    Hey Deb,

    I love Cape May! So many good places to eat. Do a search here and you’ll find some more restaurant reviews for Cape May.

    And yes, please install a feed on JerseyBites. Thanks!!!!

    Dani

  3. Jonathan said

    FUN! We love Cape May. My family has a house in Avalon and, starting next weekend, I’ll be there every weekend. Cape May is so cute and does have great restaurants. Gonna have to check this one out. Looks liek that pizza may have been soggy in the middle b/c of too much sauce? or maybe they should use my double-bake method (bake thincrust once with nothing on it, then top it and finish baking it). Who knows? The picture makes it look delcious!

  4. foodiedani said

    Hi Jonathan,

    I’m jealous of your Avalon house! Yes, CM is my favorite place in NJ -tons of good eats. I think the pizza was soggy because it was very very thin in that middle part and it just couldn’t hold the sauce. But nonetheless, it was yummy.

    Dani

  5. John said

    Thanks for the review. Lucky Bones is on our list of places to try in Cape May. There are soooo many places to eat there; it’s hard to hit them all.

  6. foodiedani said

    Thanks John. I’m trying to try EVERY place in Cape May…but it’s tough with so many new places popping up each year.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

