Espresso Brownies

brownie2.jpg

For some reason, as much as I love chocolate, I’ve never been a huge fan of brownies. But something about this recipe for Espresso Brownies made me want to make them. For one, there were no other chocolate desserts being made for Easter by my family and a girl needs her chocolate. And two, I love chocolate-covered espresso beans and I thought maybe I’d like theese brownies. And I was right.

This recipe is from Giada DeLaurentis’ Giada’s Family Dinners cookbook. The only thing I was weary about was using a boxed brownie mix since I’m not a fan of pre-made mixes for cakes, muffins, etc. But then again, I’m not the best baker either and sometimes I need a little help.

These were no ordinary brownies. These were special. They had a mouth-watering mocha-flavored glaze on top. And that’s how I became a fan of brownies my friends. All because of a little glaze.

Now I thought these brownies were great, but I’d like to find a brownie recipe to start these from scratch next time instead of using a boxed mix. Or maybe just a better boxed mix? I used a Pillsbury one, but had my eyes on a Ghiradelli mix.

Funny side note… I was reading the reviews over on The Food Network’s site and the average rating was 5 stars (the highest). There were a handful of negative reviews, but the best one was: “it tastes like coffee, I hate coffee.” Um, hello? Why would you make espresso brownies if you hate coffee? Do you not know what espresso is? lol….

Overall rating: 4 stars (maybe 5 stars with a better brownie mix)

Espresso Brownies

Recipe courtesy Giada De Laurentiis

Nonstick vegetable oil cooking spray
1/3 cup plus 2 tablespoons water
1/3 cup vegetable oil
2 large eggs
2 tablespoons plus 2 teaspoons espresso powder
1 (19.8-ounce) box brownie mix (recommended: Duncan Hines)
3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1 tablespoon unsalted butter, room temperature

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.Spray a 9 by 13-inch baking pan with nonstick spray. Whisk 1/3 cup of water, oil, eggs, and 2 tablespoons espresso powder in a large bowl to blend. Add the brownie mix. Stir until well blended. Stir in the chocolate chips. Transfer the batter to the prepared baking pan. Bake until a toothpick inserted into the center of the brownies comes out with a few moist crumbs attached, about 35 minutes. Cool completely.Meanwhile, dissolve the remaining 2 teaspoons of espresso powder in the remaining 2 tablespoons of water in a medium bowl. Whisk in the vanilla. Add the powdered sugar and butter and whisk until smooth. Pour the glaze over the brownies. Refrigerate until the glaze is set. Cut into bite-size pieces. Arrange the brownies on a platter and serve.Recipe Summary
Difficulty: Easy
Prep Time: 12 minutes
Inactive Prep Time: 30 minutes
Cook Time: 35 minutes
Yield: 36 bite-size brownies

User Rating: 5 Stars

4 Comments »

  1. melissa said

    ah, giada. like that gal. and honestly dani these look/sound really good and I’m not even a sweets person.

    the review thing is funny, the coffee comment. you know what trips me out? when people leave *rude* comments* and reviews on large, less personal sites, like food network and serious eats. some people are downright mean about the recipe or the cook without ever thinking about what an a-hole they’re being. and on serious eats, most of those comments actually get read by their staff and in some cases, the cook themselves. people are strangely aggressive on the internet, ya know?

    *of course rude comments about sandra lee are always acceptable. 😉

  2. Sara said

    Hey Dani!!

    Try Ducan Hines……that is awesome with this recipe. I make these all the time for my family gatherings, it combines my two loves (chocolate and caffiene)

    Sara

  3. Nick said

    I agree, a homemade version instead of using a box would be much better. Adding 2Tb peanut butter and a touch of milk would make a bad-ass peanut butter icing!

    The Peanut Butter Boy

  4. foodiedani said

    Melissa,
    I’m a fan of Giada too. She doesn’t annoy me as much as some of the other Food TV people do (i.e. Sandra Lee)
    And yes, the rude comments I see on blogs and other sites really amaze me sometimes. I even get some here occasionally. When they are really rude and pointless I don’t post.

    Sara,
    Thanks for the recommendation! I actually have to make these for a sorority function this weekend and will try Duncan Hines! Glad to see someone else has found this yummy recipe!

    Nick,
    I’ll have to try a homemade version for the next time not for this weekend as I’m crunched for time, but I have so many cookbooks, I’m sure I can find one starting from scratch that will work. You should so make some PB brownies for your blog!!!!

    Dani

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

