Italian Savory Pie

pie.jpg

Here’s a recap of one of two recipes I made for this past Easter. Why only two you ask? Because I have a mother and aunt who insist on making everything and then tell me to make nothing (go ahead women, say something, cause I know you’re reading this, lol)! But that’s never going to happen! Of course, even if I didn’t make the two things, we still would have had too much food, lol…But that’s every holiday for us….So I opted to make an appetizer and dessert. The yummy dessert was Espresso Brownies from a Giada DeLaurentis recipe I promise to post later this week. For the appetizer, I went with a Martha Stewart recipe I made a few years ago for Italian Savory Pie.

I actually really really really like this dish. However, I think the only ones who ate it were myself, my husband and my mother. My cousin, L, did taste it and remarked it needed salt. I used the 1/4 tsp. of salt as instructed in the recipe, and the ingredients were actually pretty salty (ricotta, mozzarella, prosciutto, Parmesan), so this might have been a matter of taste.

It’s very much like a very cheesy quiche and I would serve this at a brunch or dinner. I’ve found it does not taste as good hot out of the oven as opposed to either room temperature or slightly warm.

I also used Pillsbury Refrigerated Pie Dough as I’m entirely too lazy to make my own. It’s a tasty, cheesy little pie that I’ll keep in my recipe repertoire. If you click on the above link to the recipe there is also a short video of the pie being made.

innards.jpg

innards 

Overall rating: 4 stars

Italian Savory Pie

Italian Savory Pie

Ingredients

Makes one 9-inch pie.

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for work surface
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into 8 pieces
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 pound whole milk ricotta
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 pound mozzarella cheese
  • 1/4 pound prosciutto, thinly sliced
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten, for brushing

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees with rack in center. Prepare crust: In the bowl of a food processor, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Pulse to combine. Add butter; pulse until mixture resembles cornmeal. With processor running, add eggs and process until dough comes together and forms a ball, about 1 minute. Transfer to a lightly floured work surface, and knead until smooth, 3 to 5 minutes.
  2. Prepare filling: In a large bowl, stir together ricotta, eggs, Parmesan, mozzarella, prosciutto, parsley, and pepper; set aside.
  3. Divide dough into 2 pieces, one slightly larger than the other. Roll larger piece into a 12-inch circle; gently transfer to a 9-inch glass pie dish. Place filling in pie plate and spread evenly; set aside.
  4. Roll remaining dough into a 9-by-9-inch square; cut into 1/2-inch wide strips. Using strips, form a lattice pattern over filling. Trim bottom crust, leaving a 1/2-inch overhang. Crimp edges to seal. Brush with egg, and bake until filling is firm, 40 to 45 minutes. Let cool completely before serving.

First published November 2005

document.write(”);
6 Comments »

  1. melissa said

    dough? cheese? I want. 😉 seriously, looks yummy.

    I always buy the pillsbury ones too. but that’s because I am a cook, but not a baker. I can’t bake for shit, to be honest hahaha. ugh. I’ll learn one day.

  2. foodiedani said

    Hey there Melissa,

    It was yummy, I mean how can you go wrong with pie crust and cheese right?

    I’m like you, I can cook but baking, nope. I hate measuring things out exactly.

    Dani

  3. melissa said

    I don’t mind exact measurements. in fact, I am an extremely methodical and mathematical person, like an engineer or scientist. I just can’t work with dough. ask home cook. I told her about my disastrous effort to cook pizza dough that ended with me in tears. I just need to read more about how it really works, rather than just following a recipe, you know?

  4. Nick said

    Great combination and excellent work on the upper crust! If you didn’t say otherwise, I would have guessed homemade crust. You shoulda kept quiet =). More pie please!

    The Peanut Butter Boy

  5. foodiedani said

    Melissa

    You’re so much better than me. With baking, I wish I could just throw in what I think is a cup of flour or sugar by measuring with my hand, lol…You want to talk pizza dough, check out my old disastrous posts on homemade pizza…

    Nick

    Thanks! That was the first time I did a lattice crust! How about brownies? Next post coming up!

    Dani

  6. […] from Apartment Therapy: The Kitchen, Orecchiette with Cauliflower and Walnuts from Avenue Food, Italian Savory Pie from The Average Cook, Turkey Burger Stuffed with Crispy Bacon and Caraway Havarti, Poached Egg […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

