Herb Roasted Pork Loin with Parsley Shallot Sauce

pork.jpg

I know, I know…another recipe from Ellie Krieger. I get excited with a new cookbook, sorry. After making this recipe, I’ve come to an important conclusion. I’m just not a fan of pork (same for cauliflower). Sure, I love me some taylor ham/pork roll. I won’t pass up some bacon. But pork loin, ehhh….I can go the rest of my days without ever eating it again. So I’m not the greatest judge of this recipe. It was just ok for me. The Parsley Shallot Sauce was unnecessary (although it looked pretty) because the pork had plenty of flavor on it’s own. I also made her Roasted Cauliflower from the cookbook (not on Food Network’s site) which just called tossing it with salt, nutmeg, and olive oil . File cauliflower and pork loin in the “DO NOT COOK AGAIN” cabinet. They weren’t bad tasting just not the right meal for me. I would never crave this meal. However, if you are a fan of roasted pork and cauliflower, then maybe this recipe might work for you?

Overall rating – 2.5 stars

Herb Roasted Pork Loin with Parsley Shallot Sauce

Copyright, 2005, Ellie Krieger, All rights reserved 

2 garlic cloves, minced (1 tablespoon)
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh sage leaves or 1 teaspoon dried sage
1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh rosemary leaves or 1 teaspoon dried rosemary, crumbled
1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh thyme leaves or 1 teaspoon dried thyme
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 (2 1/2-pound) center cut boneless pork loin, trimmed of all visible fat
1/2 cup Parsley Shallot Sauce, recipe follows
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.Mash the garlic and salt together with a fork until it forms a coarse paste. Transfer to a small bowl and stir in the oil, fresh herbs and freshly ground pepper. Rub the garlic-herb paste all over the pork. Transfer the pork to a roasting pan and roast for 1 1/4 hours or until the internal temperature reaches 155 degrees F on an instant-read thermometer. Transfer the roast to a carving board and let rest for 15 minutes. Carve the pork into slices and serve with the sauce.Parsley Shallot Sauce:
1 1/2 cups lightly packed flat-leaf parsley leaves
2 tablespoons coarsely chopped shallot
3 tablespoons Dijon mustard
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons water
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
1/4 teaspoon salt
Freshly ground black pepper. Combine all ingredients in a blender and puree.
Yield: 1/2 cup

Nutrition Information
Nutritional Analysis per Serving Calories 263
Total fat 16 grams Saturated fat 4.7 grams
Protein 28 grams Carbohydrates 3 grams
Fiber 1 gram

9 Comments »

  1. You don’t like pork? No way! Pork is so tasty and tender and moist. I am a big fan of eating pig (although I feel bad when I do because baby pigs are cute).

    The parsley sauce was very green! Was it tasty?

  2. foodiedani said

    Maybe I just don’t know how to cook it right? I like all other sorts of pig though, lol…

    The parsley sauce was just ok. I wouldn’t make it again. It was pretty though….

    Dani

  3. Nick said

    Pork tenderloin is such a versatile meat. I just made an incredible, unbeatable chile verde with pork tenderloin in a slow cooker. It turned out so moist, flavorful and spicy that I could not stop eating it. This looks delicious as well, the meat looks perfectly cooked. I’m not really a cauliflower person either, but I’ve only had steamed cauliflower (the least tasty cooking method). When I post my chile verde recipe, you really must try it!

    The Peanut Butter Boy

  4. lisa said

    i find pork tenderloin delicious but deceptively difficult to do well – easy to dry out! the pic looks good, that sauce a little… parsley pudding like? throw a little dijon/apple sauce over that and i’ll eat the whole dang pig! i think it looks yummy!

  5. foodiedani said

    Hey Nick,
    I need to get me a slow cooker! How would your chili verde taste with chicken?

    Hola Lisa,
    Parsley pudding, lol! That’s exactly what it looks like!

    Dani

  6. melissa said

    it IS pretty though. made me stare at my screen for a sec.

    I used to make pork loin every week for about 6 months. now it’s been a few months, so I bought some yesterday. not sure what to do with it yet though. sorry you’re not a fan. I feel that way about other things that most people love though (like mashed potatoes). everyone’s got their preferences. 🙂

    please feel free to continue with the ellie krieger stuff. I’m curious to see more healthy but tasty options.

  7. foodiedani said

    Hey Melissa,

    It does look pretty doesn’t it?

    Check out Peanut Butter Boy’s blog. He said he’s going to post a recipe for pork with a chili verde sauce soon.

    Glad to see someone’s not tired of Ellie Krieger. Have more to post soon 🙂

    Dani

  8. Marilyn said

    The cauliflower looks good. What was wrong with it? I love roasted cauliflower. The only time I use pork tenderloin is when I make pulled pork. I know I should use butt, but tenderloin is great to use, too, IMHO.

  9. foodiedani said

    Hey Marilyn,

    There was actually nothing wrong with the cauliflower. I just didn’t like it. It could have been done anyway and I wouldn’t have liked it. Pulled pork…yum. Not that’s a recipe I haven’t tried. You’re making me have fond memories of the BBQ Pork Strudel at Drew’s Bayshore Bistro. He uses pulled pork in it. Sooooo good.

    Dani

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

