Peanut Butter Split Smoothie

smoothie.jpgsmoothie.jpgsmoothie.jpg

I know crappy pic…..

Peanut butter and bananas. Hey, even Elvis like this combo. How could you go wrong with it? I personally love it (particularly the Reese’s Special Edition Elvis Peanut Butter and Banana Cups, but that’s another story….). But I’m all about being healthy so here’s a quickie recipe for you from Ellie Krieger’s The Food You Crave: Luschious Recipes for a Healthy Life.

Smoothies are a great way to get a quick meal in there if you are always on the run like I am. I typically make mine without yogurt and found the addition of yogurt made the smoothie thicker. If you’d like it a little sweeter I suggest a packet of Equal (or Splenda or Sweet ‘n’ Low) or even a drizzle of honey. I thought it was perfect as is. I also used low-fat peanut butter instead of natural, which may have accounted for the slight sweetness that others seemed to miss. The recipe can also be found on The Food Network’s site with some additional reviews here.

Peanut Butter Split Smoothie  

Copyright 2006, Ellie Krieger All rights reserved

1 ripe banana, quartered and frozen
1/2 cup nonfat milk
1/4 cup plain nonfat yogurt
1 1/2 tablespoons creamy, natural, peanut butter

Put all of the ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth.

Nutrition Information
Nutritional analysis per serving Calories 325
Total Fat 12.5 grams Saturated Fat 1.5 grams
Cholesterol 3 grams Sodium 90 mg
Carbohydrates 43.5 grams Protein 13.5 grams
Fiber 4.5 grams

2 Comments »

  1. Nick said

    I suppose you’re a peanut butter lover like me? I just posted a few weeks ago about a peanut butter based smoothie and some really great ways to jazz it up, I have a feeling you’ll like my Perfect Smoothie.

    I have a few suggestions for you though, take em or leave em. I know everyone is all about healthy eating and dieting, but I would try to stay away from artificial sweeteners as much as possible. While Splenda does seem like the least poisonous of them all, it’s still a chemical. Even Stevia which is derived from a plant and has been used for thousands of years in Japan is not necessarily a safe chemical to be ingesting. That said, I enjoy Dannon Light ‘n Fit yogurts once in a while and in my smoothies because most flavored yogurt has as much added sugar as a can of soda!

    My second recommendation is to use natural and full fat peanut butter!!! Peanut butter (the stuff that feeds my soul) is a very healthy food, mostly due to its fat! By using reduced fat, all your doing is increasing the carbs. The fat in peanut butter and other healthy oils actually help you lose / maintain weight on an otherwise low-fat diet. Several large studies compared healthy diets with little to no fat and healthy diets with the addition of healthy fats. The people who ate the fats lost a large percentage more weight. I’m not looking to lose weight, but it also helps maintain a comfortable weight. Of course, you’ll need to switch out the calories of peanut butter for calories of something else in your diet for this to make any sense. You can’t simply eat the same diet and add peanut butter on top.

    Sorry for being “preachy”, but I just thought I’d give you a couple of healthy tips from my experience if you didn’t already know! Great looking smoothie though, even if the pic didn’t come out!

    The Peanut Butter Boy

  2. foodiedani said

    Thanks Nick for all the information. I had noooo idea about the natural and full fat PB being better than the reduced stuff. I am trying to lose weight (lose 30 pounds last year) so this helps as I often like to think I’m having a good snack with bananas mixed with pb.

    Dani

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

