Italian Wedding Soup

soup2.jpg

Recently, my mother was over my house skimming my cookbooks. She asked if I had a recipe for Italian Wedding Soup. I knew I had seen one in Giada DeLaurentis’ book, Giada’s Family Dinners, so I grabbed it off my shelf and she copied it down. Fast forward a few weeks later and I’m not feeling so hot with some sort of flu (despite the darn flu shot!) and I want nothing more than a big bowl of soup. I really wanted Chicken Noodle Soup but I was in no shape to cook so I headed over to Costco and bought a tub of their soup. No good. Very disappointing and very peppery.

A few days later, I’m starting to feel a little bit better and I still want some soup. That Costco Chicken Noodle Soup is fresh in my mind so I can’t even think about making my own Chicken Noodle Soup. I remember now that recipe for Italian Wedding Soup. As I start flipping through Giada’s book, I also notice on the preceding page a recipe for Escarole and Bean Soup. I keep flipping back and forth trying to decide which one to make. I really wanted some meatballs but I wanted that escarole with beans. So, I did what any cook would do. I combined the two and made my own Frankenstein of a soup.

The two soups are very similar with a chicken broth base. I am printing below the recipe for Giada’s Italian Wedding Soup. But here you can find her recipe for the Escarole and Bean Soup. As an added link, here’s Rocco “hottie” Despirito’s recipe for Italian Wedding Soup.

What I did differently is start out by sauteing some diced carrots, onions and carrot in olive oil and caramelizing for several minutes. I then add the escarole for one to two minutes before adding the broth. I also pan-fry the meatballs until they are almost done before adding to broth. I just do not like adding meatballs raw to soup or sauces. Just my thing. I also add a can of rinsed cannellini beans. You could even add some small pasta to this to make it even more heartier.

I loved this soup. In fact, I’ve made it again since these pictures were taken. It’s delicious and filling. The flavors blend very well together and the addition of the egg and cheese at the end is a nice touch.

Overall rating – 5 stars

Italian Wedding Soup

Recipe courtesy Giada De Laurentiis

Meatballs:
1 small onion, grated
1/3 cup chopped fresh Italian parsley
1 large egg
1 teaspoon minced garlic
1 teaspoon salt
1 slice fresh white bread, crust trimmed, bread torn into small pieces
1/2 cup grated Parmesan
8 ounces ground beef
8 ounces ground pork
Freshly ground black pepperSoup:
12 cups low-sodium chicken broth
1 pound curly endive, coarsely chopped (1 pound of escarole would be a good substitution)
2 large eggs
2 tablespoon freshly grated Parmesan, plus extra for garnish
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
To make the meatballs: Stir the first 6 ingredients in a large bowl to blend. Stir in the cheese, beef and pork. Using 1 1/2 teaspoons for each, shape the meat mixture into 1-inch-diameter meatballs. Place on a baking sheet.To make the soup: Bring the broth to a boil in a large pot over medium-high heat. Add the meatballs and curly endive and simmer until the meatballs are cooked through and the curly endive is tender, about 8 minutes. Whisk the eggs and cheese in a medium bowl to blend. Stir the soup in a circular motion. Gradually drizzle the egg mixture into the moving broth, stirring gently with a fork to form thin stands of egg, about 1 minute. Season the soup to taste with salt and pepper.Ladle the soup into bowls and serve. Finish soup with parmesan cheese if desired.

Recipe Summary
Difficulty: Easy
Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 20 minutes
Yield: 8 servings

User Rating: 5 Stars

Episode#: EI1D13
Copyright © 2006 Television Food Network, G.P., All Rights Reserved

soup.jpg

8 Comments »

  1. Superchef said

    am a vegetarian…but im sure i can make the same with veggie balls! looks very yumm!!

  2. foodiedani said

    Hey Superchef!

    Definitely try this soup with veggie balls! Or even just pasta. I’m sure either way it would taste great!

    Dani

  3. michelle said

    this soup looks good (+1 for pan-frying the meatballs first – just like nonna does it!), but i have to say – rocco dispirito, a hottie? he looks like he’s been carved out of a block of butter.

    but to each his or her own. i must support fellow jersey foodbloggers.

  4. foodiedani said

    Michelle,

    If I say I also think Sawyer from Lost is a hottie will that make up for Rocco? lol!

    Dani

  5. melissa said

    I’ve always wanted to try italian wedding soup. kudos to you on your variation, it looks great!!

  6. foodiedani said

    Hey Melissa,

    You so have to try this soup. It’s great and filling! And you can do a lot with it as for as variations.

    dani

  7. jeena said

    Hi there my name is Jeena and I have started a food recipe forum that I thought you would like to join here Click here for food recipe forum

    I would love to see you on there to chat about food and cooking you can talk about anything you like and start your very own topics. 🙂
    or see my main food recipe website Jeenas food recipe site

    Hope to see you soon

    Thanks

    Jeena x

  8. foodiedani said

    Hey Jeena,

    Thanks for the info on the forum, I’ll check it out! Like the new layout for the site.

    Dani

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

