Black Beans and Rice

beans-and-rice-2.jpg

One of my favorite things to make when I’m short on time and ingredients is Black Beans and Rice. I’ve been throwing this dish together since I was in high school and find it to be one of my comfort foods. Typically, beans and rice is a side dish, but when I make this, it usually ends up being the main course with some salad. I’m sure there are more authentic ways to make this dish, but over the years I’ve refined my take on it until I found just the right mix of ingredients.

One of the most important ingredients in the dish is the addition of Goya’s seasoning packet, Sazon, which are seasoning packets. Sazon not only gives dishes a nice flavor, but also will turn the dish, a pale yellow-orange color.

This is a great little side dish or main course if you looking for a vegetarian meal. I tend to keep all of the ingredients in stock so it’s a quick and easy dish and I think most of you will probably have these ingredients on hand as well. This is something you could also add some diced, cooked chicken too as I have done in the past. It may not look like much from the pictures, but the flavors are all there!

Overall rating – 5 stars

Black Beans and Rice

1 onion, diced

2-3 cloves of garlic, crushed

2-3 T. olive oil

1 packet Goya Sazon

1 can Black Beans, do not rinse

2 cups rice, I use brown

1 tsp. butter

In a large skillet, heat 1 T. olive oil and add onion and slowly caramelize for 8-10 minutes. Add garlic in the last minute. Add black beans and continue to cook over low heat for 4-5 minutes. Meanwhile, cook rice according to directions. Once drained, add butter and Goya Sazon seasoning packet and mix well. Add this to the skillet and let cook for one more minute. Mix all ingredients well. You may also sprinkle some cilantro or parsley on top.

5 Comments »

  1. melissa said

    too funny!! I am making this tonight – I mean, my version, but still. you know why? cause I didn’t get to cook the pork last night (long story) so I’m making it tonight. I just hope it’s not too salty. I guess I’ll find out. 😉 but hey, if it stinks, it’s friday, I’ll order in. 😉

  2. Buy Caviar said

    Hi,
    Its really fantastic to read this kind of the post .This is really a good creation . This is really awesome .I like the imagination of yours … I like the way you write ..Its really different and interesting … keep the momentum going ..I hope tis will really going to help me in future..
    brilliant. …………..

  3. foodiedani said

    Hey Melissa!

    I hope you post your version! Are you still going to make the pork though? I was looking forward to seeing how it came out.

    Buy Caviar,

    Thank you so much for your kind words! I hope you continue to read the blog.

    Dani

  4. melissa said

    dani – it’s my next post. the pork was extremely flavorful after two days of brining! perfect with rice and beans for sure. really, thanks for turning me on to cooking light. I need it to balance out the unhealthy crap I make. 😉

  5. foodiedani said

    Hey Melissa,

    Glad to hear the recipe turned out well! Cooking Light is definitely a great resourse for some healthy recipes. I am patiently awaiting my March issue!

    Dani

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

