Denino’s Pizza, Aberdeen, NJ

pizza-2.jpg

The hardest thing about moving is finding good, basic take-out food – pizza, Chinese, diners, etc. I’ve been living in upper Monmouth County, NJ for a little over a year now and have been on a quest to find excellent pizza. I’ve tried at least a half a dozen pizza joints in surrounding towns and none were quite right. Many had way too thick crusts or the sauce was off or the cheese tasted odd. I grew up in Northern NJ, in predominantly Italian neighborhoods, so there was never a shortage of a good pizzeria. I like my pizza thin with just the right amount of sauce and cheese and not too much oregano.

So what’s a girl to do? I can’t try every pizza place! I decided to post on www.nj.com. They have a  restaurant forum and I immediately got a few responses. The one that intrigued me the most was the recommendation of Denino’s Pizzeria in Aberdeen. Apparently, Denino’s is a famous pizza joint in Staten Island and they decided to branch out and open a second place in Aberdeen about a year ago.

Well, my first trip was on a Saturday afternoon. I stopped in to get a couple of slices to bring home. The place was packed. Good sign. I brought it home and I thought it was great. Perfectly thin-crust, nice amount of cheese to sauce ratio. The sauce was great and the cheese tasted like real cheese.

Next test was ordering a pie. I’ve been burned a few times before. Having a good slice, only to go back for a mediocore pie. I know, makes no sense. A few weeks later, I ordered a pie at Denino’s, half plain, half onion, on a Saturday night. When I went to pick it up, again the place was packed! When I got home we devoured this pizza! It’s not the best pizza I’ve had in my life, but I will say it’s the best pizza I’ve had in Monmouth County. We’re sticking to this place for now. I even convinced my mother to order a pie recently and they agreed, it was very good.

Overall, I’m completely satisfied with Denino’s pizza. I’ve been back a few times since then and it’s been consistently great. If you’re looking for a great pizza joint in upper Monmouth County, I suggest you give Denino’s a try.

12 Comments »

  1. Marilyn said

    When we first moved here in October, I got a pie (half sausage/half plain) from there for our moving helpers and they said it was really, really good! I could not partake as I am lactose-intolerant. So I had a salad which was OK. Other than a few sandwiches or a pasta dish (without cheese), it’s not a place I will be able to eat at unfortunately.

    Chowhounders seem to like the place quite a bit, too.

  2. Priscilla said

    No wonder you enjoyed that pizza – I am ready for dinner again!

  3. foodiedani said

    Hey Marilyn,

    I remember seeing you briefly mention Denino’s on your blog once. I was going to ask you about it. My friend had a grilled chicken wrap there last week and he said it was pretty good. And I’ve seen it mentioned frequently on chowhound as well.

    Priscilla,

    I’m always ready for pizza 🙂

    Dani

  4. melissa said

    that’s great that you at least found something you can deal with. I had a slice of authentic NYC pizza from this hole-in-the-wall when I was 10. my parents are from there and my dad took us to just the right spot. after that I was never able to enjoy any other pizza. 😛 steve grew up on dominos and pizza hut, which makes me want to cry. I always tell people I don’t like pizza, but if I could just recreate it the way I loved it… *sigh* I need home cook to come make me one! 🙂

    oh, and I am so rambling today, but I have a cooking light recipe on the menu for tonight, my first one! it’s the chile-brined roasted pork from the january 2008 issue I bought at the airport. 🙂 it will be up in a few posts. thanks for leading me to that magazine!

  5. foodiedani said

    Hey Melissa,

    I shudder at the thought of Dominos and Pizza Hut. I have a 14 year old sister who loves both! And homemade pizza, yes, I agree we should stop by Home Cook’s house for her Pizza Fridays, lol!

    I saw the recipe in Cooking Light you are referring to. It seemed maybe a bit spicy for me, but I’m curious to see how yours turns out!

    Dani

  6. michelle said

    Pizza Hut is a sin against all things pizza.

    I grew up in Old Bridge (Middlesex), and my favorite pizzas were Schiano’s (which has gone downhill) and Palumbo’s (still good).

    All hail New Jersey, King of States.

  7. foodiedani said

    Hey Michelle,

    Pizza Hut, ugh! You said it sister!

    I’ll have to check out Palumbo’s if I’m ever in the area, I have a friend who lives in Middlesex!

    Thanks,
    Dani

  8. Jake said

    Just to get the facts strait the Deninos in Jersey and Staten Island are different. But they are in the same family. They also make the pie the same but the Staten Island one is more legit i would know im still working there =).

  9. foodiedani said

    Hey there Jake,

    Thank you for setting the record straight. Hopefully one day I can get out to the famous S.I. one!

    Dani

  10. Angela said

    The worst pizza and serice by far goes to OLRLANDO’s pizza in Colts Neck, we stopped in for a quick bite last week…..we have not stopped consuming large quantities of water……Feel bad for the locals…..awfullllll

  11. foodiedani said

    Thanks for the heads up Angela. Actually never heard of that place…won’t be going there anytime soon…

  12. anthony said

    angelottis pizza on rt 9 in morganville by far the best slice

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

