Hunter’s-Style Chicken with Rosemary

chkn-4.jpeg

So I’ve been sick all week with an upper respiratory infection and fever and have been eating a lot of soup. It’s so bad I actually went to Costco and bought chicken soup instead of making it on my own. Ah, what can you do when you feel like death? Write. Well, at least until the couch calls me back to it. Here’s another great recipe from Lidia Bastianich for Hunter’s-Style Chicken with Rosemary (aka Chicken Cacciatore). It’s from Lidia Bastianich’s cookbook, Lidia’s Italy. You can find some of her recipes online here, but not this one.

This is another one of Lidia’s recipes that is simple and flavorful with few ingredients. I prefer it with some sort of pasta, but Lidia suggests polenta. Either way it’s great. Lidia also mentions that when you see lots of fresh rosemary in the dish, you know it’s from Tuscany. Finally, she suggests making it in advance as it gets better as it sits.

(oh, yeah, Happy Valentine’s Day!)

Tutti il tavolo a mangiare!

Overall rating – 5 stars

Hunter’s-Style Chicken with Rosemary

4 pd chicken cut into 8-10 pieces (I used boneless, skinless breasts)

1 1/2 tsp. sea salt or kosher salt or to taste

1/2 c extra virgin olive oil

8 garlic cloves, peeled and sliced in half

2 short branches fresh rosemary with lots of needles

1/2 tsp. peperoncino flakes or to taste

4 cups or a 35 oz can of canned Italian plum tomatoes, preferably San Marzano, crushed by hand

Rinse chicken and pat dry. Season with salt. Pour olive oil in pan and set over medium high heat. Place chicken skin side down in pan to brown for 2 to 3 minutes. Turn them over and brown another 2 to 3 minutes. Scatter the garlic into the hot fat in between chicken and then drop in rosemary stems and sprinkle peperoncino over.

Keep turning chicken until nicely browned all over, 10 minutes or so, then pour in tomatoes slowly. Slosh the tomato can with a cup of water and pour that in too. Sprinkle another 1/2 tsp salt, raise heat, and turn and stir chicken in juices as they come to a boil.

Cover pan, leaving slightly ajar. Adjust heat to maintain steady bubbling. Cook for 20 minutes stirring occasionally and turning chicken. Remove cover and cook another 20 minutes until chicken is tender and cooked through.

chkn.jpegchkn-2.jpeg

6 Comments »

  1. Robin said

    I hope you feel better soon!!! The best thing about me being stuck on the couch for weeks after my car accident was I got to spend so much time on the blog! So, I guess it’s not all bad… 🙂

  2. melissa said

    the hunter’s style chicken is a recipe I have actually read. glad to see it made and so enjoyable.

    and awww so sorry you’ve been sick sweetie. 😦 hope you’re having a good evening nonetheless.

  3. foodiedani said

    Thanks Robin and Melissa for your well wishes! Still feeling crappy but catching up on my blog reading!

  4. I love a good Lidia recipe. This looks great. I’ll have to give it a try the next time we’re looking for a new Lidia recipe.

    I hope you’re feeling better!

  5. foodiedani said

    Hey Home Cook!

    Ahh Lidia, she is wonderful!

    And yes, thank you, feeling a bit better, still coughing away though! Nasty little bug!

    Dani

  6. Momma Helen said

    Thank you! This must be real comfort food… I am taking care of my daughter, who is recovering from surgery, and really wanted to make this. But alas, I had left my Lidia’s cookbook at home. It’s such an easy meal, but sooooo wonderful. I think the tomatoes are what makes it. Thank you for posting the recipe.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

