Chili Mac

chili-mac.jpg

The BIG game is over (go Giants!), but I have a couple of good game day recipes to share with you this week. I know I mentioned it a few times on the blog that I’m not the biggest fan of Rachael Ray. She has about five recipes I’ve found over the years that I like. That’s it. Here’s one of them….

Chili Mac is exactly what it says- chili with macaroni. I make a big pot of this a few times a year and it’s a pretty decent recipe. I tend to tone down the spices a wee bit since I can’t handle it, but you can make it as spicy or as bland as you want. I think if you really want to make it a chili, it does need some heat. I also throw in some red kidney beans and use green peppers instead of jalapenos.

I’m sure there are better chili recipes out there, but this one is quick and easy and good for a crowd watching a game.

Overall rating – 3.5 stars

(**And yes, I realize I’ve been posting with a Latino theme lately, just a coincidence…)

Chili Mac

Recipe courtesy Rachael Ray

1 pound corkscrew shaped pasta with lines or elbows with lines
2 pounds ground sirloin
2 tablespoons (2 turns around the pan in a slow stream) extra-virgin olive oil
1 sweet onion, chopped
2 jalapeno peppers, seed and chopped
4 cloves garlic, chopped
3 tablespoons (1 1/2 palm fuls) dark chili powder
2 tablespoons (1 palm ful) cumin
2 tablespoons cayenne pepper sauce
Coarse salt
1 cup beer or beef broth
1 (28-ounce) can diced tomatoes in juice
1 (14-ounce) can crushed tomatoes
Chopped scallions, for garnish
In a large pot, boil pasta until al dente.Meanwhile, in a big, deep pot, brown beef in oil over medium high heat. Add onions, peppers, and garlic. Season meat mixture with chili powder, cumin, cayenne, and salt. Cook together 5 minutes, stir in beer or broth, and reduce liquid by half, 2 minutes. Stir in tomatoes and simmer for 10 minutes.Drain pasta. Add hot pasta to chili pot and stir to coat pasta evenly. Remove from heat and garnish big bowlfuls of chili mac with chopped scallions.

Recipe Summary
Difficulty: Easy
Prep Time: 5 minutes
Cook Time: 25 minutes
Yield: 8 servings

User Rating: 4 Stars

Episode#: TM1B38
Copyright © 2006 Television Food Network, G.P., All Rights Reserved

6 Comments »

  1. melissa said

    you can just keep on posting on that theme. that way I can steal the recipes because I know steve will happily eat the meals. 😉

    I’m not a huge fan of rachael ray, as a personality, but I do like some of her stuff. the new book my MIL got me is winning me over.

  2. foodiedani said

    Hey Melissa!

    Please steal the recipes and post! lol!

    Yes, RR is annoying but I can’t deny I like a handful of her recipes. Which book is it?

    Dani

  3. melissa said

    she got me the 365: no repeats one. I’ve only tried a few but have liked them so far!

  4. foodiedani said

    I think that’s the one I have Melissa. I’ll check later and let you know what are some of the good and bad recipes I’ve made out of it!

    dani

  5. Nicole said

    Yummo! I love her recipes 🙂

  6. foodiedani said

    Hey Nicole,

    What are some of your favorites?

    Dani

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

