Scones

scones-2.jpg

Here’s another recipe from my Christmas Brunch for scones. I had actually never had a scone until several years ago. I was living in South Orange, NJ and there was a little gourmet deli in town. I was looking for a quick bite one day and the owner suggested her raisin scones. Well….they were the most buttery, moist, delicious morsel I had eaten in quite some time. Her scones were so good they often sold out the day she baked them. I would have to pre-order them on the days she made them just to make sure I’d get some.

I’ve since moved from South Orange and never found a scone like those. I’ve tried many a dry, baking-soda flavored scone since and a few years ago, decided I  needed to add a scone pan to my breakfast bakeware. Now, you don’t necessary need a scone pan to make scones. You can form the dough into a scone shape and just bake on a regular cookie sheet.

The recipe I use for scones comes from Williams-Sonoma, where I purchased the scone pan from. In fact, the recipe was on the packaging. Anyhow, I think it’s a great recipe for scones. They’ll never be as good as the ones in South Orange, but I think they’re a good substitute! I used raisins in these but you can also use dried cranberries.

Overall rating – 4.5 stars

Orange-Currant Scones A Scottish quick bread, scones may have derived their name from the Stone of Destiny (or Scone), the place where Scottish kings were once crowned. Other sources claim that the word comes from schoonbrot or sconbrot, meaning “fine white bread.” Scones were traditionally made with oats and cooked on a griddle, while modern versions are generally prepared with flour and baked in the oven. 2 cups all-purpose flour
1
4 cup sugar
3 tsp. baking powder
1
2 tsp. salt
8 Tbs. (1 stick) cold unsalted butter, cut into
small pieces
1
2 cup currants
1 egg
1
2 cup heavy cream
Zest of 1 orangePreheat an oven to 350ºF. Lightly grease a scone pan, or line a baking sheet with parchment paper.In a food processor, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt and pulse to combine. Add the butter and pulse until pea-size crumbs form. Transfer to a large bowl and stir in the currants.In a small bowl, whisk together the egg, cream and orange zest until blended and add to the flour mixture. Using a fork, stir to form large, moist clumps of dough.

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and press together with your hands until the dough comes together. Roll out the dough, flouring as needed, into a 10-inch round about 3D4 inch thick. Cut into 8 equal-size wedges. Press each wedge into a well of the prepared scone pan, or place the wedges 1 inch apart on the prepared baking sheet.Bake until the scones are golden, about 25 minutes. Invert the scone pan onto a wire rack and lift off the pan, or transfer the scones from the baking sheet to the rack. Let the scones cool for 10 minutes before serving. Makes 8 scones.

Adapted from a recipe given to Chuck Williams by Judy Rodgers, Executive Chef and Co-Owner, Zuni Café, San Francisco.

scones1.jpg

13 Comments »

  1. Sara said

    Those Look so good! I make Chocolate chip ginger scones, that I just love!! One of these days I will get the pan for them…..

  2. foodiedani said

    Hey Sara!!

    Chocolate Chip Ginger huh? That sounds yummy!!!

    Dani

  3. Sara said

    Yep, it was an recipe from $40 a day when she was in Washington DC, I added the chocolate chips to it, because i just love chocolate!

  4. foodiedani said

    You are so more creative than me Sara! Chocolate chips and ginger seem like a very tasty match to me!!

    Dani

  5. Those look so good! A nice scone with a cup of tea (2 sugars and some cream) is a great snack. Yum.

  6. foodiedani said

    Yes, scones and tea…perfect combo!

  7. foodiedani said

    Just a quick note! I just defrosted my one coveted scone and took a bite. It was dried cranberries I used, not raisins!

  8. Clumsy said

    Ohh I *love* scones, but I have yet to make them, need to do that soon. I used to sell scones at the cafe in Barnes and Noble and some woman would come in everyday and call them sconces, like the light fixtures, instead of scones. I never had the heart to correct her!

  9. foodiedani said

    Hi Clumsy,

    You must make some scones and post on your blog!!

    I’ve heard several people in my lifetime call them sconces as well, lol!

    Dani

  10. I wanted to thank you for taking the time to write this article. I found it to be very interesting as I can relate to this very well. I look forward to you writing again.

  11. foodiedani said

    Thank you bed and breakfasts! Great site you have as well!

  12. Christine said

    I am in need of a good scone recipe. Any Ideas would be grea
    appreciated.

  13. foodiedani said

    Hi Christine!

    This is one of the best scone recipes I’ve made. You can change the ingredients around as well. I’ve used cranberries, raisins, orange rind, blueberries, dried cherries, almonds, etc.

    Dani

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

