Puffy Eggs in Casserole

puffy-eggs.jpg

Happy New Year!!!!

I am renaming this recipe, Deflated Eggs in Casserole, because they never got “puffy” like it should have. I did half the recipe so maybe that could be why it was so flat and dry?? Or because I used skim milk? This could also be the result of my stove, I’ve mentioned previously that it’s not working like it should. But here it is if you are apt to try it. Maybe it will work out better for you. It’s actually from a cookbook I really like and have had many successful other results from other recipes, Around the Table: Easy Menus for Cozy Entertaining at Home, Ellen Wright.

It did actually taste better than it looks but I would only make it again if I stayed true to it, meaning not halfing it. I also omitted the parsley as I didn’t have any fresh on hand.

Puffy Eggs in Casserole

1 loaf French bread

2 T butter, softened

12 large eggs, at room temperature, lightly beaten

1 c shredded sharp cheddar cheese

1/2 c whole milk

1/4 c butter, melted

3 T fresh parsley for garnish

6 strips bacon, cooked until crisp, drained on paper towels and crumbled for garnish

The night before serving, cut the bread into 1 inch thick slices and spread with softened butter. Butter a large oval or round baking dish that is 2 to 3 inches deep. Layer the bread in the dish, then add the beaten eggs, cheese, milk and melted butter. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight. In the morning, remove the dish from fridge and let sit at room temp for one hour. Preheat oven to 325 F. Bake until golden brown and puffy, 50 to 60 minutes. Garnish with parsley and bacon and serve immediately.

4 Comments »

  1. melissa said

    happy new year dani!

    I picked up an issue of cooking light at the airport over the holidays. I then promptly feel asleep on the plane back and haven’t even opened it hehe but I thought of you as I paid for it. 🙂

    the recipe looks good. sorry they didn’t puff. 🙂

  2. foodiedani said

    Hey Melissa!

    Happy New Year! I hope you enjoy Cooking Light as much as I do! I am patiently awaiting the January issue which I still haven’t received!

    Recipe was pretty tasty despite the lack of puffiness!

    Dani

  3. Looks yummy to me, even if the eggs didn’t puff.

  4. foodiedani said

    Hi Home Cook!

    It was pretty yummy! If the cookbook didn’t say anything about puffing I would have thought it looked fine as is!

    Dani

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

