Restaurant Review: Oishi Sushi, Hazlet, NJ

So after hearing a few complaints about my negative restaurant reviews and too many recipes from Cooking Light from some of my colleagues (you know who you are Mr. Old Spice) who subscribe to The Average Cook, I promised them a positive review (and some non-Cooking Light recipes to come…).

Sushi is one of my husband and mine favorite cuisines. I could seriously eat sushi everyday if one, it wasn’t so expensive and two, not recommended to eat raw fish that often. When we first moved to Monmouth County, NJ we tried several sushi places but none of them were great. None were bad, but none were phenomenal. I’m not sure what made us try Oishi Sushi but I do know it had a very good write-up in The Asbury Park Press. It’s a tiny little place, that’s never that crowded, located in a small strip mall off Route 36. The many times we’ve been there, I’ve noticed that the delivery guy is constantly in and out of there (they offer free delivery to a few towns in the area).

Every time we’ve dined here the service was impeccable. They are extremely polite and attentive. They also always take off 10% of the bill, a coupon you can easily find on the take-out menu located at the front desk or on Restaurant Passion’s website (where you can also order on-line, see the menu and restaurant pics).

I’ve never taken any pics while we’ve dined in because I didn’t want to get the weird “Why is that lady taking pictures of her food?” look. However, our most recent dining experience was take-out. I stopped by one night after working really late and having no ambition to cook dinner. When I arrived I placed our order and while I was waiting, the staff insisted I sit at one of the empty tables while they served me tea. How many places will do that?

We started with the Avocado Salad, avocados and flying fish roe on green salad. This was served with your standard ginger dressing. This was a perfect start. The salad was crisp and fresh and the avocados were ripe and buttery, no browning. The ginger dressing has just the right consistency and flavor of ginger.

sushi-3.jpg

I had the Sashimi Appetizer which I specifically requested tuna and salmon. It is super fresh and buttery and flavorful. I’ve had tuna and salmon sashimi at many different places and it’s easy for it to be bad. I’ve had soft, squishy, flavorless, fishy, and mushy sashimi. But at Oishi Sushi it tastes like they just reeled it in.

sushi-2.jpg

My husband had the eel roll and the shrimp tempura roll (my absolute favorite). He loved both and I can stand-by the shrimp tempura roll. It’s crispy and warm with big hunks of shrimp. And by request, they always put the spicy mayo on the side for us, because it’s a tad bit too spicy for me. I also had a salmon avocado roll. Again, nothing but freshness and flavor.

sushi.jpg

(Shrimp Tempura Roll on left, Salmon Avocado Roll top right, Eel Roll bottom right)

This place keeps us coming back so often it was starting to hurt the checkbook! But we do try to get here about once a month and always look forward to eating here whether it’s in the restaurant or take-out. I highly recommend this tiny little place if you are in the area.

Banzai!

13 Comments »

  1. melissa said

    you can review sushi places any time. I never get tired of looking at pictures of it. 😉

    I know what you mean about sashimi. or even regular sushi (nigiri). it’s the true test of a good sushi joint, the cuts and freshness of those two things. loooove the tuna. albacore is my favorite though.

  2. foodiedani said

    Hey Melissa!

    You are totally right! Sashimi and Sushi are definitely the true test for a sushi place. I hope to get back there soon so hopefully I’ll have more reviews!

    Dani

  3. Marilyn said

    I’ve been meaning to try this place since we moved up this way. Tonight, however, we tried Aligado on Rt. 35. While the food was good, the service wasn’t the greatest. Our appetizers were not brought out together. It’s a pet peeve of ours.

    Anyways, Oishi it is next time for sure!

  4. Mmmmm…I love sushi! I just wish it wasn’t so expensive. 😦 I could eat it every night. I love shrimp tempura rolls and that avocado salad you had looks fantastic. I can almost taste the buttery avocado goodness.

  5. foodiedani said

    Hi Marilyn!

    I heard mixed reviews about Aligado. That’s why I stick to Oishi! Please try it and let us know how you like it!

    Home Cook,

    I agree with you. Too much $$$$. I could eat it everyday.

    Dani

  6. melissa said

    I have to admit I only discovered sushi after I moved to california when I was 22… seems so long ago. 😉 but no, I was going to say that it is still far more expensive sometimes out of socal; I have seen it firsthand in dallas and south florida and northern california. I suppose it’s become so common here it got a little cheaper. which still isn’t cheap cheap, but it means I get it probably more often than I should. 😉

  7. foodiedani said

    Hey Melissa!

    I don’t think I had sushi until I was well in my twenties either! We were in Atlantic City over the weekend and browsing a sushi restaurant’s menu. They were charging $16 for shrimp tempura roll! I think we pay half that at Oishi Sushi!

    Dani

  8. Bexxie said

    I’m originally from NJ so I will have to check this place out next time I’m there visiting! Thanks for the review 🙂

  9. foodiedani said

    Please do so Bexxie! I’m been back twice since this review and they have added several new wonderful items to their menu and now can make rolls with BROWN RICE!

    Dani

  10. Bexxie said

    ooooo rolls with brown rice?? sounds good! I will definitely check them out 🙂

  11. foodiedani said

    Bexxie,

    They definitely add a different flavor, good though. And it’s a healthier option which I like!

    Dani

  12. Marilyn said

    We STILL have not tried this place yet. I want to go tonight! I must make this happen. Haha. I will let you know.

  13. foodiedani said

    Marilyn!

    Come on girl! Get there! lol. I’m jealous if you go tonight. I haven’t been there in a while and have been craving it. If you like eggplant, they have a new appetizer on their new menu. I think it’s called miso eggplant? Basically grilled eggplant with this slightly sweet delicous sauce on it. soooo good.

    Dani

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

