Vacation Restaurant Reviews Part Six

Onto the happiest place on Earth….

We departed Disney’s Vero Beach Resort very early on a Thursday morning around 7:30 a.m. and headed for the Mouse. It was a quick two hour drive to Walt Disney World Resort. We checked in to our resort, Disney’s Pop Century Resort (also known in the online Disney community as Scopa Towers…) and although we were several hours early for check-in our room was ready!

We immediately unpacked the luggage and headed for the bus stop to our first destination, Epcot, to eat (and drink) our way around the world at the annual Food & Wine Festival. For those of you who don’t know, I am a self-confessed Disney geek. I try to go every year and have been going since I was 2. We even went to WDW on our honeymoon. Getting to Disney for two days this year allowed me my Disney “fix” so to speak.

Epcot’s Food & Wine Festival is an annual event that features every country in World Showcase with a food booth selling samples of beer, wine, and food as well as several other countries not represented in the park with booths. There are also all types of cooking and wine and beer tasting seminars and special events. A true foodie event. Since we were only going to be in Epcot for the morning and afternoon, we chose to just eat (and drink) our way around the booths.

The booths were lined up around the World Showcase Lagoon and featured signs out front with the offerings. Our first stop was Argentina where the hubby went for the Organic Spicy Beef Empananda. I took a bite, didn’t like it (too spicy), but he did.

 

argentina.jpgempanada.jpg

Next up, was the Ireland booth. This took hubby to a happy place…Guinness, his favorite. And of course, some food. We sampled the Boxty Potato Pancake with Bacon Chips and Kerrygold Garlic and Fresh Herb Butter. This we both enjoyed very much.

ireland1.jpg

Next up was China for Pork Pot Stickers- hubby liked them better than I did. And India for Samosa with Tamarind Sauce – again, hubby liked, too spicy for me, although sauce was very good.

pot-stickers.jpgsamosa.jpg

The next booth was Africa. I was very excited for this booth because I knew they had bobotie, a lamb and beef casserole I had and loved at Boma at Animal Kingdom Lodge. Here it was served with a Mango Chutney. It was ok, it could have done without the chutney.

bobotie.jpg

Germany was next. I love German food and rarely get to eat it so I already had told my husband I wasn’t sharing when we got here. But because I’m nice I did give him a bite of mine….I had the Debriziner Sausage and Sauerkraut in a Pretzel Roll which I loved. He had Spaetzle with Creamy Mushroom Ragout which he was kind enough to share, particularly the mushrooms which he dislikes. I loved this too.

sausage.jpgspatezle3.jpg

After this we had to take a break because we had fast passes for one of our favorite rides, Soarin’. But as soon as we were off that attraction it was back to the pig fest.

Starting in Canada, we had one of our all-time favorite food finds at WDW- Canadian Cheddar Cheese Soup, also served at Le Cellier, my favorite restaurant ever. This was, as expected, delicious! We also tried the Maple Glazed Salmon with Arugula and Roasted Corn. This was just okay, wouldnt’ go back for seconds.

canada.jpg

After Canada, a trip to Epcot is never complete without a stop at the French bakery where I had a chocolate croissant (heavenly) and hubby had chocolate mousse (yum).

france.jpg

The next food booth was Oklahoma’s Three Sisters Cafe. Apparently, Oklahoma is being represented because it’s their state’s anniversary, lucky for us, because we got to try buffalo for the first time. It was unbelievably good. The sampling was Seared Buffalo with Scalloped Wild Onions. All I can say is wow.

oklahoma.jpg

Next up was Morocco for Kefta – Grilled Beef and Hummus in a Pita with some Mint Iced Tea. This was actually very good and the iced tea was refreshing.

mor-booth.jpgmorocco.jpg

Our last food booth of the day was Australia for some Shrimp on the Barbie. Again, nothing to write home about. I’d pass on it. There are way better items to sample.

shrimp.jpg

I did manage to sneak in one pretzel from Germany because at that point I needed something to absorb the booze. I had a three glass sampler of wine in France and then some champagne in Italy so I was feeling good but needed to get grounded! Lol!

We didn’t eat again until 10:30 over at the Magic Kingdom where we shared a burger and our own fries at Pecos Bill’s as we waited for the Halloween parade. We had an awesome day followed by an awesome night at Magic Kingdom for Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party.  For the whole day, we spent a little over $80 on the burger, two fries and all the food at Epcot. And we were stuffed.

 Up next, the final meal of the vacation…breakfast at Kona Cafe at the Polynesian Resort.

4 Comments »

  1. Wow…I haven’t checked in on you in awhile and I come back to find all these awesome Disney posts! I can’t wait to read them all. I love Epcot (well, Disney as a whole). I can’t wait to see where else you went.

    I used to go to Disney every year with my mom when I was younger. I miss it. Hopefully we can get there someday soon, although at this point I think we’ll end up waiting until we have a kid.

  2. foodiedani said

    Hey Home Cook!

    We only spent one day in the parks sadly. You should definitely try to get to WDW before kids!!! It’s a totally different experience going as adults only. We don’t have kids and my husband and I have taken numerous trips there just the two of us. Just think, you wouldn’t be able to drink your way around Epcot with the kiddies! lol!

  3. melissa said

    I have loved eating my way around epcot twice – even without a festival! the empanada, buffalo and pita especially looked good.

    “I did manage to sneak in one pretzel from Germany because at that point I needed something to absorb the booze.”

    hahahaha – I probably would have needed that too. total decadence!

  4. foodiedani said

    Hey Melissa,

    Yup, we don’t need the festival to eat our way around Epcot either! I love the food at Epcot. Everything was very good, some better than others. I am still surprised at how much I liked the buffalo!

    Dani

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

