Vacation Restaurant Reviews Part Five

The last two eateries we hit up for dinner in Vero Beach for Mr. Manatee’s and back to Shutters at Disney’s Vero Beach Resort. Our plans including leaving early Thursday morning to head to Walt Disney World Resort for Epcot’s Food & Wine Festival and Magic Kingdom’s Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party. More on that later… 

I had heard some positive comments about Mr. Manatee’s in Vero Beach, a casual, seafood eatery on the riverfront. As we pulled up we did notice not too many cars there but we figured it’s slow season and a weeknight. As we walked in, something just seemed off to me. There were few customers and just a weird vibe. Next time I get a weird vibe like that, I’m turning around and finding a new restaurant.

Unfortunately, I have no pictures of the food from Mr. Manatee’s. My camera’s batteries died when we got there so I took pics with my cell phone and they didn’t come out. But you really aren’t missing anything. For starters we tried the conch fritters, again, these were ok. I think they may have been better than Riverside Cafe’s conch fritters. My husband had wings and he enjoyed them. They were, by far, the biggest wings I’ve ever seen.

For dinner, I had a special, Rock Shrimp Sauteed with Veggies and Potatoes. It was ok. The shrimp were a little too rubbery and the amount of olive oil used in the veggies and potatoes was just too much. They were drowning in it. My husband had the pulled pork sandwich. This was enormous and he couldn’t finish it. That’s unbelievable coming from the guy who could eat a whole pizza by himself. He liked it but didn’t love it. Since we were full, we took a slice of key lime pie home. This filling was the best we had but still not great and the crust was soggy. Overall, I wouldn’t go back here, the food is sub-par. However, I will say, the service was very good. But service doesn’t keep me coming back to a place, the food does.

For our last dinner before heading to Orlando, we decided to stay at the resort. We headed downstairs to Shutters, the casual eatery. For appetizers, we shared the Shrimp Margarita with Blue Chips. This was quite good and had a little bite to it.

shrimp-margarita.jpg

For dinner, my husband had the meatloaf which came with mashed potatoes, brussel sprouts, and a Cabernet mushroom gravy. He really liked this meal and I had a bite and thought the meatloaf was very good.

meatloaf.jpg

I had the special for dinner which was Oak-Grilled Diver Scallops with a Caramelized Onion Risotto topped off with a Lobster Slaw. I loved this meal. It rivaled the Fish Tacos from the other night. Starting with the Lobster Slaw, it was seasoned nicely and had huge pieces of tender lobster in it. The risotto, which was a little on the heavy side, was still yummy and paired with the caramelized onions it was a great flavor. The scallops were absolutely delicious. Not only were they huge and succulent but the oak-grilling brought out the sweetness. This was a great meal to end our stay at Vero Beach. No room for dessert that night! And once again, perfect service.

scallops-2.jpg

Next up, lots of nibbles as we eat (and drink) our way around Epcot’s Food & Wine Festival and a departing morning breakfast at the Kona Cafe in the Polynesian Resort. Tonga Toast anyone?

2 Comments »

  1. melissa said

    I LOVE scallops! they look perfect with the risotto and lobster slaw too – that type of accompaniment never would have occurred to me.

    love eating my way around epcot too. hope you had a lovely time!

  2. foodiedani said

    Hey Melissa!

    I love scallops too! I would have never thought to put a dish like this together either, but it was perfect! I’ll be posting my Epcot reviews shortly!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

