Chicken with “Roasted” Red Pepper Sauce

chkn.jpg

What’s a girl to do when she defrosts some chicken breasts but has no idea what to do with them? On one of those rare occasions I have no recipe planned for dinner, I often have every cookbook spread out on my dining room table trying to find a recipe with what I have on hand. I really need to get some “go-to” recipes like my mom always had – breaded chicken cutlets, cavatelli and broccoli, meatloaf, etc.

After plowing through some cookbooks with no success, I headed to the web and tried Cooking Light’s website. After browsing a ton of chicken recipes based on the highest reviews, I settled on Chicken with Roasted Red Pepper Sauce from the April 2003 issue. I had (or at least I thought I had) all of the ingredients and thought it would be great with some whole wheat spaghetti.

Once I had the chicken already cooking in the pan and the spaghetti water boiling and I was about to add the “roasted” red peppers to my food processor, I noticed something was off. My peppers were in fact, not roasted, just sweet. Oh, well, at that point, I’m in too deep so I continued making the recipe. I made this with four chicken breasts cut into pieces and actually doubled the sauce since I knew I’d be serving it over spaghetti. Despite my peppers not being roasted, this came out pretty good! Both my husband and I enjoyed it and I would definitely make it again. I would, however, try it with roasted red peppers as I’d imagine it gives it more of a smoky flavor. Overall, this was super quick and easy, and surprisingly tasty!

Overall rating: 3.5 stars

*On a separate note, my apologies for the bad picture. I sense my photography skills have gotten *worse* over the year instead of better!

Chicken with Roasted Red Pepper Sauce


Serve this entrée over orzo.


1 tablespoon olive oil
4 (6-ounce) skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
1 teaspoon Italian seasoning
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 cup fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
1 teaspoon red wine vinegar
1 (7-ounce) bottle roasted red bell peppers, drained
1/4 cup (1 ounce) grated Parmesan cheese
Parsley sprigs (optional)
Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Sprinkle chicken with Italian seasoning, salt, and black pepper. Add chicken to pan, and cook 3 minutes on each side. While chicken cooks, place broth, vinegar, and bell peppers in a food processor; process until smooth. Add bell pepper mixture to pan; bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 3 minutes. Uncover and simmer 3 minutes or until chicken is done. Sprinkle servings evenly with cheese. Garnish with parsley, if desired.Yield:  4 servings (serving size: 1 chicken breast half, 3 tablespoons sauce, and 1 tablespoon cheese)CALORIES 261 (26% from fat); FAT 7.5g (sat 2.2g,mono 3.6g,poly 0.9g); PROTEIN 42.7g; CHOLESTEROL 103mg; CALCIUM 116mg; SODIUM 528mg; FIBER 0.4g; IRON 1.7mg; CARBOHYDRATE 3.1g
Cooking Light, APRIL 2003

5 Comments »

  1. quilt32 said

    I have to tell you, your picture was good enough to make me want some of this dish – soon. I copied the recipe and thank you for sharing.

  2. foodiedani said

    I’m so glad to hear that! Let us know how it turns out!!

  3. melissa said

    I like the look of it as well. and as a matter of fact, I went hunting for blogs to link this weekend, and yours was one I stuck with because after reading a few months of your stuff, I still wanted to keep reading! I really dig just about everything you cook and, like the other blogs I like to frequent, your dishes are things I and my husband would BOTH eat. thanks!!

  4. melissa said

    oh dang, I just noticed my link has been wrong all night. ugh. 🙂 have a good one and thanks again~

  5. foodiedani said

    Hey Melissa,

    Thank you for liking the site! Welcome to the food blogging world! Thanks for the link and right back at ya!

    Dani

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

