Blog or Bust #3! It’s Chili Time!!

chili-1.jpg

Another great food blog I read, The Clumsy Cook, is hosting a blogging event with a Fall food theme. In honor of her event, Blog or Bust #3!, I’ve made some chili.

Chili is one of the meals I tend to start making in the Fall and will make it quite a few times throughout the season and in Winter. I’ve made many different versions of chili over the years – mild, spicy, green, ground turkey, ground beef, vegetarian, etc. so I’m no stranger to this one-pot wonder. I tried a new recipe this time, but I must say, after going back and looking it over, man did I ever deviate from this recipe….

For this chili, I used a recipe I found in the September 2007 issue of Cooking Light, Chunky Two-Bean and Beef Chili. This was different than most chili’s I make because instead of ground beef, the recipe called for big hunks of beef stew meat. Now for the many, many alterations to this recipe. First, I did not use green peppers because the one I had went bad. Instead, I used a red pepper that was still in good shape. Although, I do prefer green. I did NOT use jalapeno peppers either. NO way I can handle that spiciness. I instead used mild green chiles in a can. I think they are Old El Paso brand found near the taco stuff. I also did not use ancho chile powder, again too much spice. Same reason I did not use hot chili beans. I substitued black beans for the hot chili beans, but still used the red kidney beans.

Despite my many changes to the recipe it was quite good. Not too spicy, just a little kick, perfect for me. The cinnamon added an interesting taste to the chili, in a good way. I served it with some sour cream (light), shredded cheddar (fat-free), and diced avocado. It really hit the spot. It’s a keeper.

Overall rating: 4 stars

Chunky Two-Bean and Beef Chili


Best Chili/Stew. Nothing hits the spot on a blustery cold day like a pot of hot chili. This recipe is a favorite because we love the chunks of meat, subtle spicy heat from the jalapeño peppers, and depth of flavor from the red wine. Reduce the ground red pepper by half if you prefer a milder version. –Recipe by Krista Ackerbloom Montgomery (March 2005)


1 tablespoon canola oil, divided
Cooking spray
1 1/2 pounds beef stew meat
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups chopped onion
1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper
1 tablespoon minced fresh garlic
2 teaspoons finely chopped jalapeño pepper
2/3 cup cabernet sauvignon or dry red wine
1 1/2 tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoons tomato paste
1 1/2 teaspoons ancho chile powder
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon ground red pepper
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon ground coriander
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 (28-ounce) can whole tomatoes, undrained and chopped
1 (15-ounce) can dark red kidney beans, rinsed and drained
1 (15-ounce) can hot chili beans
Reduced-fat sour cream (optional)
Heat 1 teaspoon canola oil in a large Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Sprinkle beef with salt. Add half of beef to pan; sauté 8 minutes or until browned. Remove from pan. Repeat procedure with remaining beef. Add remaining 2 teaspoons oil, onion, and bell pepper to pan; sauté 3 minutes. Add garlic and jalapeño; sauté 1 minute. Add wine, scraping pan to loosen browned bits. Return beef to pan. Stir in sugar and remaining ingredients except sour cream; bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 1 1/2 hours or until beef is tender, stirring occasionally. Garnish with sour cream, if desired.Yield:  6 servings (serving size: about 1 1/3 cups)CALORIES 390 (26% from fat); FAT 11.4g (sat 3.2g,mono 4.8g,poly 1.1g); PROTEIN 31.3g; CHOLESTEROL 71mg; CALCIUM 94mg; SODIUM 825mg; FIBER 10.1g; IRON 5mg; CARBOHYDRATE 37.5g Cooking Light, SEPTEMBER 2007

chili1.jpg

3 Comments »

  1. Clumsy said

    Oh, this looks fantastic. Cinnamon makes a very interesting and warm, comfy addition, and I love that you add avocado! The close up picture above is mouthwatering! Thanks for joining Blog or Bust!!! -Robin

  2. foodiedani said

    Thanks so much Robin for the compliments! And for sponsoring Blog or Bust!

  3. […] from Average Cook cooked up a chunky two bean and beef chili. Dani writes, “Not too spicy, just a little kick, perfect for me. The cinnamon added an […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

