Sauteed Scallops with Parsley and Garlic

If you recall a few weeks ago, I had posted about Spaghetti with Scallop Sauce. It had come out wonderfully but my only gripe about it was the cost of the scallops from a local fishery ($17.95 a pound). Costly, but the best tasting scallops I’ve probably ever had. I decided to give Costco’s scallop a try. They were about half the price (and half the taste). I didn’t have a particular recipe in mind when I purchased the scallops so I headed to Cooking Light’s website and did a search for scallop recipes. The recipe for Sauteed Scallops with Parsley and Garlic seemed quick and easy and I had an overabundance of parsley from my garden. Overall, the dish came out quite well. The parsley and garlic sauce was very complimentary to the sauteed scallops. It was fresh, light and delicious. I wish I had served it with bread to soak up the sauce. The scallops were not as good as the fishery’s hence the cost difference. Since I do not make scallops that often I will definitely continue to get them from the fishery because this dish would have been perfect if the scallops had been perfect.

I served it with some polenta rounds I quickly fried up in a little bit of olive oil. I topped the polenta with some diced tomatoes quickly sauteed in some olive oil, garlic and fresh basil. Not the best side dish for the scallops, but it was super fast and tasty.

Overall rating: 4 stars

Sauteed Scallops with Parsley and Garlic


The secret to perfectly browned scallops is patience. Peterson recommends cooking in two batches. Heat the oil until it ripples in the pan. Add scallops, a few at a time, and wait for them to sizzle before adding more. If you add too many at once, the pan will lose heat and its ability to brown them all.


16 large sea scallops (about 1 1/2 pounds)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons butter
1/4 cup chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
2 garlic cloves, minced
Sprinkle scallops with salt and pepper. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add 8 scallops; sauté 2 1/2 minutes on each side or until browned. Set aside, and keep warm. Repeat procedure with remaining 8 scallops. Wipe pan clean with a paper towel. Add butter to pan; reduce heat, and cook until butter melts. Stir in parsley and garlic, and cook 15 seconds. Return scallops to pan; toss to coat.Yield:  4 servings (serving size: 4 scallops) CALORIES 241 (43% from fat); FAT 11.5g (sat 3.6g,mono 5.7g,poly 1.1g); PROTEIN 28.7g; CHOLESTEROL 71mg; CALCIUM 48mg; SODIUM 464mg; FIBER 0.2g; IRON 0.8mg; CARBOHYDRATE 4.3g Cooking Light, JULY 2005

10 Comments »

  1. Santadelic said

    damn this looks good!!!

  2. foodiedani said

    Thanks! Hope you give it a try!

  3. Erika said

    Thanks for this great idea! I also heard that to avoid having overcooked and chewy scallops you can cut them in half before putting them into the skillet.
    Look forward to reading more on your blog 🙂
    Erika

  4. foodiedani said

    Thanks Erika! I’ll have to try your tip next time. I think I did that when I made the Spaghetti with Scallop Sauce a few weeks ago.

  5. jeena said

    Hi there you have a great blog,lovely recipes. Feel free to visit my blog too 🙂

    Jeena xx

    click here for food recipes

  6. foodiedani said

    Thanks so much Jeena! I will definitely give your blog a visit and hope my readers will too!

  7. Susan said

    Dani, almost $18/pound! Beautiful recipe, but…ouch. Think of it this way though: four people could never eat a meal out like this for $18; more like $18 each for seafood!

  8. foodiedani said

    Ouch is right Susan!

  9. Marilyn said

    I keep forgetting to try your Scallops with spaghetti recipe. I must remember to get some scallops after next payday. 🙂 This recipe looks great as well. I haven’t had polenta in quite a while, I should get some of that soon, too.

    I linked to you on my new blog, btw. 🙂

  10. foodiedani said

    Thanks for the link Marilyn! Enjoying the new blog as much as the old one! Try the Lighthouse Fishery for the scallops, pricey but worth it.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

