Spaghetti with Scallop Sauce

scallop-pasta-3.jpg 

I’ve been in sort of a recipe rut lately. I haven’t seen anything in my magazines or books that was inspiring so I’ve been trying out some of my own culinary creations lately. If you recall from earlier posts, I am a great cook – when following someone else’s recipe. Usually when I try my own experiment, it’s a disaster. But on this rare occasion, I think we may have a repeater!

This past Sunday I was craving seafood. After stopping by my local supermarket and not finding anything too appealing, I decided to head to the local fishery in town for the first time. Once I got there, I pretty much had my mind set on scallops so imagine my surprise when they had them there for $17.95 a pound!! I don’t buy scallops that often but that seemed high to me, so I only bought a half a pound, which equalled 8 scallops! But there’s only two of us so I figured that would be enough.

I started by pan searing the scallops with some garlic in olive oil and butter. Once they started to carmelize, I added some defrosted artichoke hearts and white wine. In the last few minutes of cooking, I added some canned diced tomatoes that were slightly drained. I seasoned very lightly with salt and pepper. I served this over some whole wheat spaghetti. My own issue was that I tossed it all together, thus the spaghetti absorbed a lot of the sauce sadly. I really enjoyed the flavors and the scallops were delicious (they better be for the price). My husband didn’t enjoy it as much as I did because his theory is, he really only likes his spaghetti with meatballs and your standard marinara sauce.

Overall rating: 4 stars

Spaghetti with Scallop Sauce

Serves 2

a little less than 1/2 pound of spaghetti, cooked and drained

1/2 pound scallops

4-6 cloves of garlic, finely chopped

1/2 cup artichoke hearts diced (I prefer frozen to canned)

2 tsp. butter

2 T. olive oil

1/2 c. white wine

1 c. diced, canned tomatoes, slightly drained.

Melt butter with olive oil and add garlic and scallops over medium heat. After a few minutes, as they begin to carmelize throw in artichoke hearts and white wine. Cook a few minutes until wine begins to reduce. Slowly add tomatoes and cook a few more minutes until flavors blend. Season with salt and pepper. Add mixture to top of spaghetti or other pasta.

Leave a Reply

