Salmon with Cucumber Salad and Dill Sauce

salmon-2.jpg 

Don’t you appreciate those days when you actually crave a light, refreshing healthly meal? I know I am grateful when I have those craving slide in somewhere between my chocolate-cake-pizza-buttered roll cravings. This salmon recipe from Cooking Light fit the mark. I made this one night when we weren’t that famished, wanted something light due to the heat outside and knew we would be satisfied by a simple fish dish and a little side salad.  

I had first marked this recipe for Salmon with Cucumber Salad and Dill Sauce when I received my August 2007 issue of Cooking Light and knew next time I headed out for groceries to pick up some salmon so I could make this. I’ve had a hankering for salmon lately – grilled, broiled, stuffed, sashimi, sushi rolls –  so I’ve been eating it quite a bit. At least it’s healthy for the most part (yes, I know, I am keeping my intakes down to about twice a week).

This dish was very flavorful and light but we had mixed reviews about it. I love salmon pretty much cooked anyway so I had no issues with the technique used to make this. I did notice someone reviewed this on Cooking Light and said it was bland. I suppose it’s all about taste. I am quite satisfied with salmon pan-seared  and seasoned with only salt and pepper. However, I did add a drizzle of olive oil in addition to the cooking spray.

I also really enjoyed the dill sauce. Fresh dill is one of my favorite fresh herbs to use. It smells, looks and tastes great with many dishes. The dill sauce paired very nicely with the crispy, pan-seared salmon.

The only thing we weren’t crazy about was the cucumber salad. While it had nice flavors and was a little tart and tangy, I thought it was unneccessary to this dish. Almost overkill with the dill. And quite forgettable.

If I made this again, which I likely will, I would omit the cucumber salad and just make the dill sauce to serve with salmon. Overall, a nice, light, flavorful meal.

Overall rating: 3.5 stars

Salmon with Cucumber Salad and Dill Sauce


Prepare the sauce up to one day ahead, and refrigerate. Wild salmon is in season now, available in many fish markets and grocery stores; its rich, vivid flavor will only make the dish better.


6 tablespoons fat-free sour cream
2 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon finely chopped fresh dill, divided
3 tablespoons rice vinegar, divided
1 1/2 tablespoons finely chopped shallots
1/4 teaspoon grated lemon rind
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
1 garlic clove, minced
4 (6-ounce) salmon fillets (about 1 inch thick)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
Cooking spray
1/4 cup dry white wine
1 English cucumber (about 1 pound)

Combine sour cream, 2 tablespoons dill, 2 tablespoons vinegar, shallots, rind, juice, and garlic in a bowl, stirring well; cover and chill. Sprinkle fish evenly with salt and freshly ground black pepper. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add fish to pan, and cook for 3 minutes. Turn fish over, and cook 1 minute. Remove from heat. Add wine; cover and let stand 3 minutes or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork or until desired degree of doneness. Using a vegetable peeler, shave cucumber lengthwise into ribbons to yield about 2 cups. Combine cucumber, remaining 1 tablespoon rice vinegar, and remaining 1 teaspoon dill in a bowl; toss gently to coat. Place about 1/2 cup cucumber mixture on each of 4 plates; top each serving with 1 fillet and 2 tablespoons sour cream mixture. Yield:  4 servingsCALORIES 347 (49% from fat); FAT 18.7g (sat 3.7g,mono 6.6g,poly 6.7g); PROTEIN 35.4g; CHOLESTEROL 102mg; CALCIUM 68mg; SODIUM 283mg; FIBER 0.9g; IRON 1mg; CARBOHYDRATE 7.2g Cooking Light, AUGUST 2007

3 Comments »

  1. Katerina said

    I know how you feel about craving light things – sometimes it just works out that way and isn’t it nice! I love your cucumber salad it is much more attractive cut in long pieces then the way I usually make it in rounds – I will try that next time, thanks.

  2. foodiedani said

    I wish I craved light more often Katerina! Yes, the cucumbers definitely have more plate appeal when they are in long strips. I used a peeler to get them that way.

  3. Amya said

    This meal was made for me by a friend and I thought it was AMAZING. It really was the best salmon recipe I have ever had. I think that the salmon quality has a lot to do with it.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

