Ode to Lemons….

dsc03422.jpg

After searching for three weeks on Cooking Light’s website and sending their Customer Service two emails requesting their help (with NO response), I’ve decided to give in. By giving in, it means me manually typing a recipe instead of copying and pasting it and linking it! Earlier this week, I wrote a post dedicated to the use of limes. Now dear readers is a post dedicated to cooking with lemons. As I mentioned in the lime post, I love to cook using lemons and limes. I think they add great flavor to any dish, whether sweet or savory.

I’m all about grilling in the summer, even though it means I still don’t know how to turn on the grill. When I received the July 2007 issue of Cooking Light and saw the picture of the Shrimp and Lemon Skewers I went out and bought some shrimp right away. This summer was the first time we’ve made skewers ourselves on the grill. We’ve bought the pre-made skewers previously at supermarkets, but never tried ourselves. Even though I’ve only made 4 skewers each time we’ve made them, I will say threading the skewers is quite time consuming. I would never attempt to make this for a crowd.

dsc03423.jpg

The recipe turned out wonderful. The shrimp were tangy, zesty, succulent, and full of lemony flavor. It was great taking the grilled lemons off the skewer and squeezing the warm juice over the shrimp. I served this with Lemon-Chive Potato Salad, also from the July 2007 issue of Cooking Light. This recipe I found to just be ok. I am a little biased with Potato Salad as I consider my mom’s the best I’ve ever had. I don’t even attempt to make it like her. In fact, I will opt to make a oil- and vinegar-based potato salad instead of mayo-based because I know it can’t compare to hers. The lemon flavor was so subtle in the potato salad, that I wouldn’t even tell someone it was Lemon-Chive Potato Salad if I was serving it. I won’t be making this again, although I’ve already made the Lemon and Shrimp Skewers another time since this first attempt.

Enjoy!

Overall rating:

Lemon and Shrimp Skewers – 5 stars

Lemon-Chive Potato Salad – 2.5 stars

***Side note – It’s always exciting for me to hear when someone tries out my recipes (or ones I recommend!). Even more exciting when they post it on their blog!! Check out the blog Black Coffee & Bourbon, a neat, little blog that just arrived on the scene who reviewed one of my favorite dishes, Shrimp in Green Sauce, after reading about it here.

Shrimp and Lemon Skewers

1 T. extra virgin olive oil

1 T. balsamic vinegar

3/4 tsp. grated lemon rind

1 1/2 tsp. fresh lemon juice

1/8 tsp. kosher salt

1/8 tsp. fresh ground pepper

3 garlic cloves, minced

40 large shrimp, peeled and deveined, about 1 1/2 pounds

16 – 1/4 inch thick lemon slices

cooking spray

Combine first seven ingredients in large zip lock bag. Add shrimp to bag and seal. Marinate in fridge for 30 minutes. Remove shrimp from bag, reserve marinade. Thread 5 shrimp and 2 lemon slices onto 8 (12 inch) wooden skewers. Prepare grill. Place skewers on grill coated with cooking spray. Grill 3 minutes on each side or until shrimp are done, basting occasionally with reserved marinade.

Yield four servings, 2 skewers each.

dsc03426.jpg

Lemon-Chive Potato Salad


White-fleshed potatoes and onions offer at least two types of antioxidants, which may enhance immune function. Cover this dish and refrigerate it for a minimum of four hours to allow the flavors to adequately meld.


4 1/2 cups (1/2-inch) cubed peeled baking potato (about 2 pounds)
1/3 cup finely chopped onion
1/2 cup light mayonnaise
1/4 cup chopped fresh chives
3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/2 cup thinly sliced radishes

Place potato in a large saucepan, and cover with water. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 15 minutes or until tender. Drain. Cool; cover and chill. Stir in onion.Combine mayonnaise, chopped fresh chives, fresh lemon juice, salt, and freshly ground black pepper in a small bowl, stirring with a whisk. Add mayonnaise mixture to potato mixture; toss gently to coat. Cover and refrigerate 4 hours or overnight. Sprinkle radishes over potato mixture just before serving.

Yield: 8 servings (serving size: about 2/3 cup)

CALORIES 137 (14% from fat); FAT 2.1g (sat 0.5g,mono 0.4g,poly 1.1g); PROTEIN 2.4g; CHOLESTEROL 0.0mg; CALCIUM 11mg; SODIUM 286mg; FIBER 2g; IRON 0.5mg; CARBOHYDRATE 28g

Cooking Light, JULY 2007


2 Comments »

  1. spkr602 said

    My husband and I love this shrimp recipe! He requests this on a regular basis.

  2. foodiedani said

    Hi Sarah,

    It’s wonderful isn’t it? The funny thing is when I was desperately trying to find the recipe so I wouldn’t have to key it, I actually found your recipe and saw that you had it on the menu one night!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

