Tomato Basil Tart

tart.jpg

 

I’ve been making this recipe for a Tomato Basil Tart since 2002. It is one of the very few recipes in my collection that have received the prestigious 5 star awards from both myself and my husband because it’s one of the most delicious things I’ve ever made. This tart is so yummy last time I made it, my 14 year old sister and friend came over my house and were hungry and each ate two slices. She told me the next day, they wanted a third slice but were embarrassed to ask! My mom then later asked why I didn’t send any home as my sis was going on and on about how delicious this tart was. Impressive!

It’s one of my go-to recipes when I want to impress. I’ve learned from past experiences to never try anything new on guests (I’ve had quite a few disasters). This is a great summer meal, especially when tomatoes are at their prime, to serve guests- whether it’s lunch, brunch, or a light dinner. A fresh salad or some grilled or steamed vegetables would be a nice accompaniment.

Now for the modifications…For the crust, the recipe calls to use a can of breadstick dough and rolling it out. This is the only part of the recipe that is a mistake. It’s impossible to successfully roll out these breadsticks and make a acceptable tart crust. After trying this once, I’ve switched over to Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust. Make your own if you can. I’m not a baker by any means, and therefore chose the easy way! I’ve also been known to use light ricotta instead of fat-free. The fat-free version just doesn’t taste right to me. This recipe does have quite a few steps and does take a little longer than you might expect, so give yourself some time if you plan on trying it out. Be sure to follow the steps for the tomatoes to get the moisture out. Tomatoes that are too watery will ruin this tart.

The results are a scrumptious, cheesy tart with great herb flavors topped off with fragrant juicy tomatoes. Enjoy!

Overall rating – 5 stars

Tomato Basil Tart

Cooking Light, August 2002

1 (11 ounce) can refrigerated soft breadstick dough (Use refrigerated pie crust! Trust me!)

Cooking Spray

8 plum tomatoes

1 1/2 tsp salt

1 cup loosely packed basil leaves

3/4 cup (3 ounces) shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese

2/3 cup fat-free ricotta cheese

1/2 cup (2 ounces) grated fresh Parmesan cheese

1/4 tsp black pepper

2 large egg whites

2 tsp olive oil

1. Preheat oven to 4252. Unroll dough, separating into strips. Working on a flat surface, coil 1 strip of dough around itself in a spiral pattern. Add second strip of dough to end of first strip, pinching ends to seal; continue coiling remaining dough. Let rest 10 minutes.3. Roll dough into 12-inch circle; fit into bottom and up sides of 9-inch round removable-bottom tart pan coated with cooking spray. Cover dough with foil; arrange pie weights or dried beans on foil. Bake at 425 for 15 minutes; remove weights and foil. Bake additional 5 minutes or until edges are lightly browned.4. Reduce oven temperature to 3505. Core and slice tomatoes into 1/4 inch slices. Sprinkle tomatoes with salt, place tomatoes, salt sides down, on several layers of paper towels. Let stand 10 minutes, pressing down occasionally.6. Place basil, cheeses, pepper, and egg whites into blender or food processor. Spread mixture over crust. Arrange tomato slices over cheese mixture, brush with olive oil. Bake at 350 for 40 minutes or until cheese mixture is set. Let stand 10 minutes before serving. Yield 6 servings.

CALORIES 283 (30% from fat) FAT 9.3g (sat 3.9g, mono 3.5g, poly 1.5g) PROTEIN 15.5g CARB 32.5g FIBER 1.8g CHOL 19mg IRON 2.1mg SODIUM 863mg CALC 273mg

tart-3.jpg

12 Comments »

  1. that looks amazing. i think i will have to give that recipe a try!

  2. foodiedani said

    Thanks! You won’t be disappointed!

  3. I love the sounds of this. I’m going to print the recipe right now. Yum!

  4. foodiedani said

    Thanks Home Cook! Let us know how it turns out!

  5. Margaret said

    Wow! Your tomato tart looks like just the thing I’ve been wanting to make! Since the tomatoes are fabulous right now, I will definitely have to try your recipe this week. I just have to think about which soup I would pair it with. I’ll share my results with you! Oh, and your shrimp skewers look out of this world! Cheers!

  6. foodiedani said

    Thanks Margaret for the compliments on the tart and skewers! Can’t wait to see your results! Been enjoying your blog for awhile now 🙂

  7. sambycat said

    so i am cruising around your nifty blog and seeing this tart as i was wondering if you’d ever heard of/made “tomato pie”? it’s something i never heard of till i lived in kentucky and i may adapt some of these recipe ideas to make a “lighter” version because mine ended up with a homemade cream pastry crust, then peeled (blanched – thats not right – you know when you boil the tomatoes for like a minute to skin them?) tomatoes like pounds! salt, pepper – the original recipe was a true midwestern thing – pre bake crust, layer tomato slices with blobs of mayo, salt, pepper and cheddar cheese. i redid with layers of tomato, olive oil, parmasean/mozzerella – not to much, not as cheesy/tarty as yours – salt/pepper, herbs. bake. it is freaking awesome!!!

  8. foodiedani said

    Hey Lisa,

    I’ve never heard of tomato pie. It sounds interesting and yummy. And with the mayo and cheese sounds like something Paula Deen would make! lol…

    Dani

  9. pink moo said

    the tamato tart looks yummy. i making it to day at school as part, as my GCSE course work

  10. foodiedani said

    Hey there Pink Moo,

    This is one of my fav recipes on here. Let us know how it turns out!

    Dani

  11. Toni said

    I am so glad I came across your tart! I have made one for years and it is the hit of every party and a dish everyone ask how to make. I do add 1 heaping tsp of minced garlic to the dish and while cooking it smells divine but the TASTE!!!! I am going to try yours today-with my garlic. I can’t wait to have another version! Your so right….pie crust from the box is the only way to prepare this awesome dish.

  12. foodiedani said

    Hi Toni,

    Thanks for visiting! And thanks for reminding me about one of my fav recipes. Post back to let us know how it turns out!

    Dani

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

