Zucchini Tart

zucchini-tart.jpg 

Ok, I have to admit, I really changed this recipe around which could be way it came out so horrible, but then again, maybe not. I saw this recipe for a Zucchini-Gruyere Tart in Rachael Ray’s magazine that someone had given me a copy of. As I’ve mentioned in some other posts, I’m not a big fan of RR and have found her recipes to be inconsistent. I have about five or so that are quite good and the rest I’ve tried are horrible. I’d place this recipe in the latter, but again, is it because I deviated so far from the original recipe??

For starters, I did not use gruyere. I just don’t like it and it’s quite an expensive cheese at my grocery store. Instead I used a mixture of mozzerella and paremsean. Those two cheeses are awesome on their own!!! Secondly, I used Italian bread crumbs instead of plain. Why you ask even though I had plain bread crumbs? Because for some reason I purchased the value pack of 2 GIANT containers at Costco despite the fact that I rarely use bread crumbs soooo I’ve been trying to find ways to use them up. Plus I thought Italian bread crumbs + mozzarella + parmesean = TASTY. Thirdly, I probably only used 3-4 tablespoons of the butter instead of the 6 it called for in the recipe. I just thought it was too much butter fat & calorie-wise. I also admit to not using all of the salt for health-conscious reasons as well (to get some of the liquid out of the zucchini).

The result, well….it looked pretty. The taste was just blah. Despite using less salt, it was very salty. Maybe because of the cheeses? Maybe because of the already seasoned breadcrumbs? The crust fell apart. Again, maybe my own fault for not using all of the butter as noted? But the overall taste was just bland. This is probably one of the recipes I’ve deviated from the most, but honestly, I think even if I did follow it completely I can’t see how it would have tasted much better. It just did nothing for me. And to top it off, getting the zucchini prepared was a pain in the tush!

Do I recommend this recipe? Only if you make it according to directions, and then let me know how it turns out. But I am definitely not endorsing it. I promise to reveiw yummier recipes this week!!!!

Overall – 1 star

Zucchini-Gruyère Tart


From Every Day with Rachael Ray
May 2007

SIX TO EIGHT SERVINGS

Ingredients

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1 cup plain bread crumbs

1 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme

1/2 teaspoon fresh rosemary

1 cup Gruyère cheese, shredded (about 4 ounces)

6 tablespoons butter, melted

Pepper


 
1. Preheat the oven to 375º. In a colander, toss zucchini with the salt and let drain, stirring occasionally, about 20 minutes.
2. Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, combine the bread crumbs with the thyme, rosemary, 1/4 cup Gruyère and the butter. Press the mixture evenly into a 10-inch springform pan and bake until set and golden, about 15 minutes. Transfer to a rack to cool. Increase the oven temperature to 400º.
3. Using your hands, squeeze out as much liquid as possible from the zucchini. In a bowl, toss the zucchini and remaining 3/4 cup Gruyère. Season with pepper. Top the crust evenly with the zucchini mixture and bake until lightly golden, about 50 minutes. Run a knife around edge of the tart before removing the side of the pan.

4 Comments »

  1. Kristen said

    It does look pretty. I’m sorry that it didn’t turn out though. Everything changed, in my opinion, should have made it taste better. Hmmmmmm.

  2. foodiedani said

    Hi Kristen! (love your blog by the way!)

    That’s what I thought too! I mean how could you go wrong with mozzerella and parmesean? Oh well!

  3. Susan said

    As Kristen said, it does look pretty. It’s a shame when recipes don’t come out right. It’s happened a lot to me (still does sometimes), and it’s always disappointing. Better recipe next time, Dani! And thanks for tagging me; I’ll take up the meme when I can. It’ll require some extra thought – I’m sure I know more song lyrics than The Star-Spangled Banner. : )

  4. foodiedani said

    Thanks Susan! I’m in the same boat as you. Every once in a while I have a doozy of a recipe like this one. So disappointing, especially if it was time consuming. Looking forward to reading the meme!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

