Grilled Salmon with Roasted Corn Relish

salmon.jpg 

Nothing says summer more than grilling for me. Although, admittenly, my husband does all the grilling. Heck, I don’t even know how to get the grill started. We love not only grilling burgers, steaks, chicken, fish but also veggies. Something about grilled vegetables makes them all the more tastier.

We enjoy having some kind of grilled protein with a nice, cool salad. This great recipe from Cooking Light for Grilled Salmon with Roasted Corn Relish fit the bill. I did take quite a few liberties with this recipe to make it more towards my tastes and because I was missing some ingredients.

First, I did not use Anaheim chiles. Instead I used cubano peppers. Secondly, I added avocado to the salad because I had one and wanted to use it. I heart avocados. I also had to omit cumin from the recipe which, unfortunately seemed to be one of the main seasonings. I actually was out of cumin and didn’t realize it. I also used dried cilantro because I didn’t have fresh and threw in some fresh parsley.

It was a nice, refreshing summer meal and I’d definitely make it again. I’d even make the salad for other meals. My favorite part of the meal was the roasted corn, which really brings out the flavors.

This recipe got pretty high reviews over at Cooking Light. I do hope you try it. Enjoy!

Overall rating – 4 stars

Grilled Salmon with Roasted Corn Relish


This entire dish is prepared on the grill, infusing both the relish and salmon with a bit of smokiness.


4 Anaheim chiles
Cooking spray
2 shucked ears corn
1 cup diced tomato
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
6 tablespoons fresh lime juice
1 teaspoon salt, divided
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, divided
1 teaspoon ground cumin
4 (6-ounce) skinless salmon fillets
Prepare grill. Place chiles on grill rack coated with cooking spray; grill 5 minutes on each side or until blackened. Place chiles in a heavy-duty zip-top plastic bag; seal. Let stand 5 minutes. Peel chiles; cut in half lengthwise. Discard seeds and membranes. Cut chiles into 1/4-inch strips.Place corn on grill rack coated with cooking spray; grill 10 minutes or until lightly browned, turning occasionally. Cool slightly. Cut kernels from cobs.

Combine chiles, corn, tomato, cilantro, and juice; toss gently. Add 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon black pepper.

Combine remaining 1/2 teaspoon salt, remaining 1/4 teaspoon black pepper, and cumin, stirring well. Rub spice mixture evenly over both sides of salmon. Place salmon on grill rack coated with cooking spray; grill 4 minutes on each side or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork or until desired degree of doneness. Serve with relish.

Yield:  4 servings (serving size: 1 fillet and 3/4 cup relish)CALORIES 304 (33% from fat); FAT 11.3g (sat 2.6g,mono 4.8g,poly 2.9g); PROTEIN 33.9g; CHOLESTEROL 80mg; CALCIUM 39mg; SODIUM 671mg; FIBER 2.7g; IRON 1.7mg; CARBOHYDRATE 18.1g

Cooking Light, JUNE 2007

Leave a Reply

