My First Meme…7 Random Facts About Me…

Susan over at The Well-Seasoned Cook tagged me with my first official meme. So keeping in the spirit of the blog, I’ll give you seven random food facts about me…

1. I’m on a low-carb diet. Yup, you wouldn’t know it from some of my posts, but due to doctor’s orders a few months ago, I’ve been following a low-carb diet (not Atkins) for the last few months. Diabetes runs in my family and they are concerned I could get it as well if I don’t watch my sugar intake. But, I do admit that on the weekends, I cheat. My gastro doctor even agreed it was the right thing to do to stay course. It stinks sometimes since I love to cook but I am learning to adjust.

2. I cannot for the life of me make up my own recipes. I’ve never been able to enter a cooking contest for this fact. I just follow other people’s recipes really well. I’m just not creative at all.

3. Until this year, I hated salmon. I must have had really bad salmon at one point because I refused to eat it. Then for some reason (probably hunger) while at Costco one day, I tried a free sample of their stuffed salmon and LOVED it. Since then, I’ve been buying and cooking salmon and even ordering it out.

4. I am addicted to Ralph’s Italian Ices. I vow to try every one of their flavors. My current favorite is coconut raspberry tart.

5. I am also addicted to avocados. I think they are the best thing since sliced bread. I want to eat them all the time, but oh, the carbs and fat. Lower carb and good fat, but not a good idea to eat all the time. Personal favorite way to eat: plain or with a BLT.

6. My favorite restaurant in New Jersey is The Mad Batter in Cape May. Breakfast, lunch or dinner it’s sooo good. I even had my rehearsal dinner there before my wedding. I always eat there when I visit. The Croustade on the Breakfast menu is my usual: scrambled eggs, roasted pepper and garlic, with green onions, sausage and pepper jack cheese served over brioche with home fries. See my Cape May post for pictures.

7. My favorite restaurant outside of New Jersey: Le Cellier in Walt Disney World. Considering, I almost never vacation anywhere outside of WDW, I am a little biased. Le Cellier is a Canadian Steakhouse in Epcot. The Cheddar Cheese Soup, the pretzel breadsticks, and the best filet mignon I’ve had in my entire life. yum.

There, my first meme. I’d tag other bloggers, but I don’t really know any!

5 Comments »

  1. Susan said

    I’ve been to Cape May several times, usually 3-day getaways. My favorite is Cape May Point. The beach is quieter, and I love to climb the lighthouse. Did you get married in Cape May?

  2. foodiedani said

    Hi Susan,

    Yes, Cape May Point is beautiful! Have you been recently? They replenished the beaches near the lighthouse.
    And yes, I did get married in CM at Sunset Pavilion down at the end of the cove and then our reception was at Hotel Alcott. What is your fav B&B? We love the Mooring.

  3. Susan said

    We haven’t been down there since last May. Because we can never make plans until last minute due to work demands, we’ve been staying at Congress Hall. They always have some room available even if we arrive at 11 PM.

    Years ago, I had a memorable stay at the Queen Victoria. The Mooring looks adorable. We’d like to sneak away during Xmas week. We’ll see what happens…

  4. foodiedani said

    I love Congress Hall, it’s so beautiful. I remember when they were doing renovations. We’ve never stayed, but it’s on our list of places to stay down there. We tried to get a room at Queen Victoria last Christmas but they were full. I highly recommend the Mooring, the food is fabulous (and you get tables for two), and the furnishings are Victorian/Modern and don’t smell musty or look breakable as some other B&B’s!

  5. Naomi Hamm said

    Do you know how I like my egg-salad on white real soft and very fresh bread, not toasted at all. What I mix in egg salad; just the very simple and yet basic ingr of which I feel makes it perfect:

    extra mayo or extra salad dressing( miracle whip of course), a little bit of mustard depending on how much egg salad you are making, more added if you are making a lot more than just for two sandwiches, as well as some India Relish, other add-ins can include crisp fresh lettuce, dark or pale green, extra onions of your choice, extra dill herb and/or paprika, cumin and or chives, just a little pinch goes a long way and saves the day…………….

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

