Stuffed Peppers

dsc03048.jpg

Stuffed Peppers are definitely a comfort food for me. If you’ve read my post on Stuffed Pepper Soup (from Cooking Light), you’d know how much I love them and have grown up on them. I’ve gotten a lot of traffic to the site based on searches for Rachael Ray’s Stuffed Pepper Stoup, which she made on her show Monday so I thought I’d give the people what they are looking for. Stuffed Pepper Soup or Stuffed Peppers, I’ve got the recipe you are looking for.

My recipe for Stuffed Peppers is pretty much one that has evolved from how my mother makes them and how I’ve interpreted the recipe. She always serves them with mashed potatoes but since we are carb-conscious, the rice in the stuffing is enough for us. A nice side salad would round out this meal.

Please forgive my recipe if you find fault with it. I usually just make from memory. Enjoy!

Overall rating: 5 stars

Stuffed Peppers

4 large green peppers

1 onion, diced

3-4 garlic cloves, crushed

28 oz. can crushed tomatoes

1 pound ground meat

1 small can tomato paste

Parmesan cheese

Salt, pepper, garlic powder, dried basil

about 1 1/2 cups cooked rice

First, rinse peppers, slice in half and scoop out seeds and membranes. Let peppers cook in boiling water for about 10 minutes to soften a bit. Meanwhile, saute onion and garlic in olive oil until slightly softened and golden brown. Let cool. Cook rice. Once rice, onions, and garlic are cooled combine in bowl with ground meat. Add tomato paste, salt, pepper, garlic powder, basil (in small amounts). Drain peppers and place in baking dish. Generously stuff peppers with meat mixture. In another bowl, season crushed tomatoes with salt, pepper, garlic powder, basil. Pour over peppers. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese if desired. Bake at 350 for approximately 45 minutes.

dsc03049.jpg

Leave a Reply

