Tilapia Piccata

dsc03038.jpg

I am a big fan of Chicken Piccata; the light and refreshing lemon butter sauce with the contrasting tangy capers always played well with chicken. I honestly never thought to make piccata sauce with anything but chicken. Yes, I know,  I am so adventureous in the kitchen. I have a hard time thinking outside of the box when it comes to cooking, hence why I never enter cooking contests. My own recipes usually end up disastrous (look for a future post on stuffed chicken that will prove my point).

I found this recipe for Tilapia Piccata in the March 2007 issue of Cooking Light. Interesting. I love tilapia but only have made it a few ways- the standard broiled with lemon, butter, etc. or breaded with Italian breadcrumbs and parmesean cheese. I decided to give this a try and was so glad I did. The piccata sauce was really complimentary to the tilapia. I’ve even made it a second time since then. I served it with fresh broccoli and brown rice with diced sweet red peppers mixed in for some color.

Overall rating: 5 stars

Tilapia Piccata

From  Cooking Light
Substitute most any flaky white fish, or use veal or chicken cutlets.


8 ounces uncooked orzo (about 1 1/2 cups)
3/4 cup grape tomatoes, halved
1/2 teaspoon salt, divided
3 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
1/4 teaspoon black pepper, divided
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
4 (6-ounce) tilapia fillets
3 tablespoons butter, divided
1/4 cup white wine
3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1 tablespoon drained capers

Cook pasta according to package directions, omitting salt and fat. Drain; stir in tomatoes, 1/4 teaspoon salt, parsley, and 1/8 teaspoon pepper. Set aside and keep warm.Combine remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt, remaining 1/8 teaspoon pepper, and flour in a large shallow dish. Dredge fish in flour mixture. Melt 1 tablespoon butter in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add fish to pan; cook 1 1/2 minutes on each side or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork or until desired degree of doneness. Remove fish from pan; keep warm.

Add wine, juice, and capers to pan; cook 30 seconds. Remove from heat. Add remaining 2 tablespoons butter to pan; stir until butter melts. Serve fish with sauce and pasta.

Yield:  4 servings (serving size: 1 fillet, 3/4 cup pasta mixture, and about 1 tablespoon sauce)

CALORIES 461 (24% from fat); FAT 12.5g (sat 6.4g,mono 3.1g,poly 1.1g); PROTEIN 41.7g; CHOLESTEROL 108mg; CALCIUM 30mg; SODIUM 512mg; FIBER 2.6g; IRON 1.6mg; CARBOHYDRATE 45.3g

Cooking Light, MARCH 2007

4 Comments »

  1. Susan said

    That looks REALLY good. I love piccata anything. There’s something about capers. Thx!

  2. foodiedani said

    Thanks Susan! I hope you try it out! It’s very simple.

  3. Hey, Im sorry I actually wanted to let you know that I have your site on my blog but I kept forgetting to do so. I hope you don’t mind. I love your site and i love cooking simple stuffs. Your pop overs caught my eyes!!! I love pop overs a lot. I am inspired to get me pop overs pan 🙂 Anyways, just want to introduce my self, my name is Tasha. Just some ordinary girl who like to blog. Take care!!!

  4. foodiedani said

    Hi Tasha! Glad you are enjoying the blog! I’ve been enjoying yours as well. I have you listed too, so thanks very much 🙂 So happy I can inspire someone!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

