Popovers!

dsc03033.jpg

I wanted nothing more than a popover pan from Williams-Sonoma for Valentine’s Day this year. No candy, not flowers, a popover pan. Yup, a foodie for sure. Lucky for me, I got it! My husband will always get me cookware for gifts because he knows he reaps the benefits. A popover is basically a light, airy muffin/roll. The texture and taste remind me of the shell of a cream puff pastry. They are great for breakfast plain or with jam. They could be served along side dinner as well. They look really beautiful and taste wonderful. I think I’ve read you could make popovers in a regular muffin tin but I don’t know if they would come out as airy or light. A popover pan is specially made so a burst of steam creates this unique roll. If it’s something you are truly interested in, you can find a cheaper pan online other than Williams-Sonoma. One tip I found somewhere online was to warm the pan for a few minutes in the oven before filling with batter. I did this the second time around and they came out more fluffy than the first time.

Overall rating: 5 stars!! yum yum yum

dsc03031.jpgdsc03034.jpg

 
Perfect Popovers It’s easy to prepare moist, airy popovers with crisp, golden domes when you use the right pan. Our aluminized-steel pan delivers a quick burst of heat, which converts the moisture in the batter to steam, causing it to “pop over” the sides and rise dramatically. The tapered cups are set apart to promote air circulation. For best results, don’t overfill the cups; do place the pan on the center oven rack; and don’t open the oven door during baking.Popovers are a classic accompaniment for the Thanksgiving feast, and they’re also delicious for breakfast, paired with butter and jam. Or serve them alongside soups and stews.



4 Tbs. (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted
6 eggs, lightly beaten
2 cups milk
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. salt
Unsalted butter for serving (optional)

Directions

Preheat an oven to 450°F. Spray the wells of a standard 6-cup popover pan with nonstick cooking spray. Pour 1/2 tsp. of the melted butter into each cup.
In a bowl, whisk together the eggs and milk, then whisk in 2 Tbs. of the melted butter.In a large bowl, whisk together the flour and salt, then whisk in the egg mixture. Whisk vigorously until smooth, about 2 minutes. Divide the batter among the prepared cups and bake for 20 minutes. Reduce the oven temperature to 325°F and bake for 15 minutes more. Remove from the oven and invert the pan onto a wire rack.Let the pan cool, then spray the wells with nonstick cooking spray, pour 1/2 tsp. of the melted butter into each one, and bake the remaining batter. Serve immediately with butter. Makes 12 popovers.

Williams-Sonoma Kitchen.

11 Comments »

  1. Susan said

    You don’t think you need one of these type pans until you use one and then know what you’ve been missing. I borrowed my mother’s Yorkshire Pudding pan, more like a muffin pan with really wide but shallow depressions. I will never make it in the roasting pan again. Your popovers look wonderful. I wish I had one with my coffee now.

  2. foodiedani said

    Hi Susan!
    I think for $20 it’s a great buy! They are so simple and delicious. I too am wishing I had one instead of my boring, cardboard-tasting granola bar.

  3. Jason said

    Those look awesome! I guess I’m going to have to get one. My wife is in charge of popovers, I think I’ll pick one up for her this week.

    Her popovers taste great but they don’t get that fluffy look when they are made in a muffin tin.

    You photos made me crave prime rib, au jus, and popovers…..

    JR

  4. foodiedani said

    Hi Jason!
    You must then buy one for your wife!! It’s worth it! And please stop, lol! You’re making me hungry with that talk of prime rib!

  5. Jason said

    I assume the popovers in you post were made with the regular size pan and not the mini-popover pan???

    With the mini-popover you’re just cheating yourself.

    I am getting excited!

    JR

  6. foodiedani said

    Jason
    These were made with the regular sized pan, definitely not the mini! You’ll have to post back once you get it and make some!

  7. Susan said

    $20 from Williams-Sonoma? You bet it’s a great buy. Thanks for pointing it out.

  8. foodiedani said

    Susan- I do hope you get one and post something on your blog!

  9. Jason said

    I picked up the W-S Popover pan. My wife whipped up a batch this past weekend and they were pretty awesome. A great buy.. but now I need to buy a second because 6 popovers are not enough for the dinner parties we throw.

    Here is a link to a picture.
    http://tinyurl.com/2wn8wj

    Jason

  10. foodiedani said

    Jason,
    YUMMMMMM. That picture looks awesome. I guess you caved into your craving from a few weeks ago! I think I need to buy another myself. Promised to make them for Easter this Sunday but six won’t cut it for my crowd either!

  11. […] Catered Roast Beef with all the fixings (minus great popover from foodiedani). […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

