Stuffed Pepper Soup

dsc02964.jpg

Nothing beats a cold, wintry day than a steaming bowl of soup. I’ve been making this Cooking Light recipe for Stuffed Pepper Soup for a few years now. My mother often made Stuffed Peppers while I was growing up and still does and it remains one of our family favorites. But who would have thought to make a soup out of it? This recipe was actually a reader submitted recipe and we really enjoy it in our household. I usually double this recipe and then freeze some. I also spoon the rice into the soup once it’s in individual bowls so it does not absorb the liquid. The only alteration I make to this recipe is using brown rice instead of white. On this particular occasion I also used a red pepper because I didn’t have enough green ones. Also, I drain the ground beef after it’s browned to reduce some of the grease even though I usually use the lowest fat content of ground beef. This recipe is definitely a keeper! And yes, it actually tastes like a Stuffed Pepper! Enjoy!

Overall rating – 4 stars

dsc02963.jpg

Stuffed Green Pepper Soup

From Cooking Light
“I like this recipe because it’s a good way to get my husband to eat vegetables. This is a comforting soup for a cold day with corn bread or another hearty bread, and it gets better the day after.” -Chris Sunderman, Morgantown, WV


1/2 pound ground round
2 cups chopped green bell pepper
1 cup chopped onion
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1 (14-ounce) can less-sodium beef broth
1 (14.5-ounce) can diced tomatoes, undrained
1 (10 3/4-ounce) can tomato soup, undiluted
1 1/2 cups hot cooked white rice

Heat a small Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add beef; cook 3 minutes or until browned, stirring to crumble. Add chopped green bell pepper and onion; cook 8 minutes or until vegetables are tender. Stir in black pepper, less-sodium beef broth, diced tomatoes, and tomato soup; bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 45 minutes.Spoon 1/4 cup hot cooked white rice into each of 6 bowls; top with 1 cup soup.

Yield: 6 servings

CALORIES 219 (30% from fat); FAT 7.2g (sat 2.6g,mono 2.9g,poly 0.8g); PROTEIN 11.7g; CHOLESTEROL 26mg; CALCIUM 39mg; SODIUM 444mg; FIBER 3.2g; IRON 2.7mg; CARBOHYDRATE 27.5g

Cooking Light, NOVEMBER 2004

5 Comments »

  1. MistressZhivago said

    You should be absolutely ASHAMED!!! Putting such Yummy pictures online. I mean… really – the steamy obscenity of the second photo is just too much!

    I actually saw Guy on the Food Network at a restaurant that served this soup. I have never heard of it, but I LOVE stuffed Bell Peppers. So, last week, I bought the ingredients and today, I took everything out and was about to “wing” it and make my usual stuffed peppers , just morph it into soup. I decided to search the web for recipes and came across yours.

    After seeing your pictures, I can barely wait for mine to be ready!! It’s the middle of the day and I’m making it for dinner and the weekend, but every couple minutes, I’m up, sniffing and stirring the pot in anticipation and coming back and looking at your photos!!!

    Thanks for the pictures and the recipe. It’s getting down to 45-50 here in Dallas, so it’s great weather for it!

  2. foodiedani said

    haha, thanks mistress zhivago!

    let us know how the soup turns out!

  3. Emily said

    My mom makes it all the time and it and I LOVE it!

  4. foodiedani said

    hi emily, it’s a keeper right? thanks, dani

  5. Paul said

    This sounds wonderful.. Gonna try this. Thanks for sharing.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

