Rack of Lamb & Potato Gratin

Although Valentine’s Day was almost two weeks ago, I’m just getting around to my dinner recap. My husband and I usually do not go out for Valentine’s Day, we just don’t like the crowds or the inflated prices. I prefer to stay home and cook something extra special that I normally wouldn’t cook for a regular dinner. This year I tried making one of my favorite meals I order out but have never tried making myself before- Rack of Lamb. I didn’t have Rack of Lamb for the first time until a few years ago at a upscale restaurant in Cape May, NJ. I can still remember how succulent and juicy the meat was. If it’s on the menu, I will almost always order it.

I found the recipe for Rack of Lamb with Rosemary Scallion Crust on the Food Network’s web site. It was from Cooking Live with Sara Moulton. I don’t think I’ve ever made one of her recipes although I often watch Sara’s Secrets. The recipe only had two good reviews and it sounded relatively simple and tasty so I went for it. It was quite time consuming and messy, but the results were absolutely delicious! The rosemary scallion crust with just a hint of heat was very complimenting to the juicy lamb meat. And I must say, it looked beautiful as well.

dsc02958.jpg

Along with the lamb I also chose to make fresh broccoli and yes, another one of Sara Moulton’s recipes. I chose to pair the lamb with a Gruyere Potato Gratin, and while I normally would not eat Gruyere on it’s own, I think it has a delicious texture and taste when melted. Again, the result of the gratin was perfect. It looked beautiful and tasted scrumptious. The melted Gruyere was just the right compliment to the soft potatoes and combined with the lamb, it was a perfect pair. Both dishes were quite time consuming, it took me approximately 2 and a half hours to pull this whole meal off. This would make a great meal for a quite romantic dinner or even for a large dinner party.

dsc02955.jpg

dsc02956.jpg

*No substitutions were made to either recipe.

Overall rating: 4.5 stars

Rack of Lamb with Rosemary Scallion Crust

Recipe courtesy Gourmet Magazine

 
 
 
1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
1/4 teaspoon dried hot red pepper flakes
1 garlic clove, minced
3 tablespoons thinly sliced scallion including the green part
1 teaspoon dried rosemary, crumbled
1/2 cup fresh bread crumbs
1 (1 1/4 pound) trimmed and frenched single rack of lamb (7 or 8 ribs)
Salt and pepper, to taste
1/4 cup mayonnaise
1/4 cup mustard
Watercress sprigs, for garnish
In a small skillet heat the oil over moderate heat until it is hot but not smoking, add the red pepper flakes, and cook them, stirring, for 10 seconds. Add the garlic and cook it, stirring, for 30 seconds. Add the scallion and the rosemary and cook the mixture, stirring, for 10 seconds. Stir in the bread crumbs and salt and pepper, to taste, and remove the skillet from the heat. Mix the mayonnaise and mustard in a small bowl, set aside. Heat an ovenproof skillet over moderately high heat until it is hot and in it brown the lamb, seasoned with salt and pepper, turning it for 5 minutes, or until the sides and the ends are browned evenly. Pour off any fat from the skillet, arrange the lamb, fat and meat side up, and brush with mayonnaise/mustard mixture. Then pat the crumb mixture evenly on the fat and meat side of the lamb. Bake the lamb in the middle of a preheated 475 degree oven for 15 minutes, or until a meat thermometer registers 130 degrees for medium-rare meat. Transfer the lamb to a platter, let it stand, uncovered, for 10 minutes. Serve garnished with watercress sprigs.

 

Recipe Summary
Prep Time: 30 minutes
Cook Time: 20 minutes
Yield: Yield: 2 servings

User Rating: 5 Stars

 
 
 
 

 

Episode#: CL9641
Copyright © 2006 Television Food Network, G.P., All Rights Reserved

Gruyere Potato Gratin

Recipe courtesy Gourmet Magazine

 
 
 
2 pounds large red potatoes
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 1/2 cups coarsely grated Gruyere (about 6 ounces)
2 large eggs
2 cups milk, heated just to boiling
Preheat an oven to 400 degrees F and butter a 1 1/2-quart gratin or shallow baking dish. Bring a large saucepan of salted water to a boil. Peel potatoes and cut into thin slices (about 1/8-inch thick). Add potatoes to boiling water and par cook for 4 minutes. Drain potatoes well in a colander.
In gratin or baking dish, arrange potatoes, overlapping them, in 3 layers, sprinkling first two layers each with a third of Gruyere and salt and pepper.
In a small bowl whisk eggs and add hot milk in a stream, whisking. Season mixture with salt and pepper and pour evenly over potatoes. Sprinkle potatoes with remaining cheese and bake 30 minutes, or until top is golden and potatoes are tender.
Wine Suggestions: Penfold Shiraz Rosemount Shiraz

 

Recipe Summary
Difficulty: Easy
Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 30 minutes
Yield: 4 servings

User Rating: 4 Stars

 
 
 
 

 

Episode#: SS1A04
Copyright © 2006 Television Food Network, G.P., All Rights Reserved

4 Comments »

  1. dragonlife said

    Greetings!
    You call yourself an Average Cook? You ought to be abit more assertive! I found your blog quite instructive and enjoyable! I wonder if my nights will be long enough to read all those scrumptious posts! And what about the next diet…
    Oh well, I’m lucky enough to live in Japan where food is essentially healthy. But I certainly plan to complement it with some of your creations! I love potato gratin, a dish from my home country (I’m a French expat in Japan)!
    If you look at my other blogs, you will find my interest in sushi and sake.
    Looking forward to exploring your blog!
    Cheers,
    Robert-Gilles

  2. foodiedani said

    Thanks so much for the compliments Robert! I look forward to checking out your blogs as well. How lucky you are to be in Japan! I would love eating Japanese cuisine on a daily basis.

    If you search through my recipes I essentially try to stick to “Cooking Light” recipes as I try to eat and cook healthier but occasionally, I will make something sinful like this Rack of Lamb and Potato Gratin. I hope you find some recipes you can enjoy!

  3. I love lamb, especially rack of lamb. I usually order it when we go out to a fine dining restaurant. Your rendition looks absolutely scrumptious! I’ve never cooked lamb at home, but I think I might have to give it a try for a special occasion. 🙂

    Potato gratin is one of my favorites. I’m not a fan of gruyere cheese (don’t like anything in the Swiss family, actually) but yours looks fantastic. Nice and browned on top. Yum!

  4. foodiedani said

    Home Cook- I was always a little apprehensive about trying to cook rack of lamb at home but I found it to be not as challenging as I thought. Messy, yes, but not that difficult. Give it a try!

    I would make this grating with a variety of cheeses. Try cheddar, I think I might next time!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

