Shrimp in Green Sauce

dsc02938.jpg

I can’t begin to tell you how many times I’ve made this recipe since I first discovered it in the January 2004 issue of Cooking Light. I absolutely love this meal! It’s been a go-to recipe for several reasons: it’s quick, it’s easy, it’s delicious, and it looks beautiful! Shrimp in Green Sauce is an Iberian recipe, probably the only Iberian recipe I’ve ever made, that reminds me of a scampi dish, but better. The green sauce is not only vibrant against the contrast of the pink shrimp but the fresh herbs create a fabulous aroma. Additionally, the green sauce is so light, fresh, and flavorful, that it’s a must as Cooking Light suggests, to soak every last bit of it up with some bread. This dish could easily be served over rice or pasta as other reviewers on Cooking Light have remarked. Because of the flavor, ease, and presentation of this dish, I suggest this as a great meal for guests when you want to impress.

Overall rating: 5 stars!!

Shrimp in Green Sauce

From Cooking Light
This Iberian dish is similar to shrimp scampi. Good bread to soak up the rich sauce is a must.


3 1/2 tablespoons extravirgin olive oil
6 garlic cloves, peeled
1 cup coarsely chopped green onions
1 cup coarsely chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper
2 1/4 pounds large shrimp, peeled and deveined
1/3 cup dry white wine
6 ounces sourdough or French bread, torn into 6 (1-ounce) pieces

Preheat oven to 500°.Place olive oil and garlic in a food processor; process until garlic is finely chopped, scraping sides of bowl occasionally. Add green onions and parsley in food processor; pulse until minced. Spoon garlic mixture into a large bowl. Add 1/2 teaspoon salt, black pepper, red pepper, and shrimp to garlic mixture, and toss well to coat.

Spoon the shrimp mixture into a shallow roasting pan, and add the wine. Bake at 500° for 7 minutes or until the shrimp are done, stirring once. Serve with bread.

Yield: 6 servings (serving size: about 5 ounces shrimp mixture and 1 ounce bread)

CALORIES 352 (30% from fat); FAT 11.8g (sat 1.8g,mono 6.6g,poly 2g); PROTEIN 37.6g; CHOLESTEROL 259mg; CALCIUM 131mg; SODIUM 630mg; FIBER 2g; IRON 5.6mg; CARBOHYDRATE 19.5g

Cooking Light, JANUARY 2004

9 Comments »

  1. whitishrabbit said

    This looks so good, I’m actually jotting down the recipe. And I never do that.

  2. foodiedani said

    And that picture doesn’t even do it justice.

  3. I have to say, I’m pleasantly surprised that the green herbs in the dish are parsley and scallions. Usually dishes like this require a teeny tiny amount of herbs that I never use (tarragon, rosemary, etc) and I can’t justify buying a huge bunch. I always keep parsley and scallions on hand, though, so I’ll have to copy this one down. It looks divine!

  4. foodiedani said

    Home Cook- It is devine! And I found that I used the entire amount of parsley and scallions I purchased, so nothing went to waste. Enjoy! I hope to read about it on your blog!

  5. Freya said

    Looks lovely and summery! But I want to eat it now, rain, wind and all!

  6. foodiedani said

    Freya- This is so good, I could eat it all year long, but yes, it reminds me too of a great meal on spring or summer day.

  7. […] had a pound of fresh Gulf Shrimp and wanted to try something new with them. I found the recipe for Shrimp in Green Sauce at The Average Cook and decided to give it a try. It was very easy to make and filled the kitchen […]

  8. tried the recipe tonight and i thought it was wonderful! nice and light.

  9. foodiedani said

    Thanks for trying a recipe and letting us know Black Coffee & Bourbon! This is for sure one of my fav ways to make shrimp!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

