Hamburger Soup

hamburger-soup.jpg

I found this recipe while looking through The Good Home Cookbook. I wanted to make soup and this one sounded quick and easy, but odd. I was a little hesitant to make this. Okay, I admit, I was feeling a bit food snobbish when I read it (same way I feel when my husband sneaks a can of Chef Boy-ar-dee in our grocery cart). It turned out to be a decent tasting soup. Didn’t really remind me of having a juicy, mouth-watering hamburger. More of quick and simple veggie soup that just happened to have ground beef in it. I think in the actual cookbook, Richard Perry describes this as a good soup that the kids will enjoy. I think he was right. This is a good, go-to recipe if you have small kids and can tempt them to eat soup by calling it Hamburger Soup. I doubt I would make it again, good, but just wasn’t memorable.Overall rating- 3.5 stars (me – 3, hubby- 4)

Hamburger Soup from The Good Home CookbookServes 4 to 6

1 tablespoon oil

1 pound ground beef or ground turkey

1 medium onion, finely chopped

3 cups beef broth (page 118) (I used canned beef broth)

1 (28-ounce) can diced tomatoes

3 tablespoons chili powder

2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

Salt and pepper

1 cup elbow macaroni

1 cup frozen corn

1 cup frozen green beans or peas

Grated Parmesan cheese (optional), to serve

1. Heat the oil in a large soup pot or saucepan over medium-high heat. Add the meat and brown, about 8 minutes, stirring to break up any clumps. Add the onion and sauté until soft and translucent, about 3 minutes. Drain off any fat.

2. Add the broth, tomatoes, chili powder, and Worcestershire sauce. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Bring to a boil. Stir in the macaroni, reduce the heat, and simmer until the macaroni is tender, 15 to 20 minutes.

3. Stir in the corn and green beans or peas. Simmer until tender and heated through, about 10 minutes.

1 Comment »

  1. kim said

    I have been looking for a soup that is easy and tasty. Thanks for posting this recipe. Can’t wait to try and will let u know how it turns out.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

