Chicken Paprikash

chkn-paprikash.jpg

This is one of those recipes that I loved so much and my husband did not that I’ve had to wait awhile to make it again. What ends up happening is he usually forgets I’ve made it before and depending on the day, the weather, what’s on TV that night, whatever, he may actually like the dish better the second time around!

I first made Cooking Light’s version of Chicken Paprikash when I first saw the recipe in the December 2005 issue. I believe it has Hungarian roots and is a chicken dish simmered with onions, red peppers, and tomatoes with sour cream mixed in and served over egg noodles.  I remember giving it probably 4 or 5 stars and husband probably around 3 or even 2. He just wasn’t having it first time around. So as I was scrolling through my database of recipes, I noticed this recipe and remembered how much I enjoyed it. What’s the worse that can happen? I know he’ll eat it anyway and what’s ever leftover can be my lunch for the next day or so! 

I didn’t tell him I was making the recipe and didn’t actually tell him what it was until I brought it to the table. You guessed it, he didn’t remember me making it before and this time around, he loved it!

The dish has very good reviews over at Cooking Light. NO alterations or substitutions were made to this recipe!!! Enjoy! (The pics don’t do this dish justice, take a look at the pic over at Cooking Light, much better!) Click here for link for recipe.

Overall rating: 4 stars by both hubby and me!

Chicken Paprikash

From  Cooking Light
Serve this saucy dish with egg noodles tossed with a bit of butter, caraway seeds, salt, and pepper.


1 tablespoon canola oil
1 pound chicken breast tenders, cut into 1-inch strips
1 cup prechopped onion
1 cup thinly sliced red bell pepper (about 1 medium)
1 1/2 teaspoons bottled minced garlic
1/4 cup whipping cream
1 tablespoon paprika
1 tablespoon tomato paste
1 teaspoon caraway seeds
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1 (14.5-ounce) can diced tomatoes, undrained
Heat canola oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add chicken; cook 5 minutes or until browned, stirring occasionally. Remove from pan, and keep warm. Add onion, bell pepper, and garlic to pan; sauté 4 minutes or until tender. Return chicken to pan. Stir in cream and remaining ingredients; cover and simmer 5 minutes or until chicken is done and sauce is slightly thick.Yield:  4 servings (serving size: 1 cup)CALORIES 241 (31% from fat); FAT 8.2g (sat 2.4g,mono 3.3g,poly 1.7g); PROTEIN 28.4g; CHOLESTEROL 76mg; CALCIUM 51mg; SODIUM 507mg; FIBER 3.1g; IRON 1.8mg; CARBOHYDRATE 12.9g Cooking Light, DECEMBER 2005

4 Comments »

  1. I thought it looked like there was eggplant in the dish from the photo. It sounds yummy. I’m definately going to put this into my recipe folder.

  2. foodiedani said

    Definitely yummy! I hope you do try it! Enjoy!

  3. Interesting…when I make paprikash I don’t use tomato. That could be a nice addition, though. I’ll have to keep that in mind for the next time.

  4. foodiedani said

    Home Cook- I bet with or without tomatoes it’s still yummy. I think it’s the whipping cream that does me in!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

