Fettuccine (Rigatoni) Alfredo

alfredi.jpeg

I normally avoid cooking foods as rich and fattening as Fettuccine Alfredo. I know it’s good, so good, I probably wouldn’t be able to eat just a human size portion if I did make it. My husband would have to hide it from me (kind of like what he does when I buy Trader Joe’s Praline Pecans). But the last page of the January issue of Cooking Light intrigued me. There it was, a low-fat, healthier version of Fettuccine Alfredo. But it sounded weird. The sauce had low fat cream cheese in it. Hmmm…Could this possibly taste good?? The real version has HEAVY CREAM in it and Cooking Light thought they could make it taste just as good with cream cheese? I had to try this. Well, turns out, it was pretty tasty! You could tell there was something different about this sauce but yet it still tasted yummy.

I was forced to modify this recipe because I had no fettuccine so I substituted rigatoni. I used fat free milk because that’s all we keep in the house and the sauce came out fine. I also added some broccoli to make it even more healthy. If I make this again in the future I would try it again with whole wheat pasta.

I dedicate this recipe to my dear friend Tiph. A dear friend who still reads my blog even though she admittedly doesn’t cook well or that often. I promised her I’d make something easy for her to try. Here it is girl.

Overall rating: 4 stars

alfredo-closeup.jpeg

Fettuccine Alfredo

From Cooking Light


1 tablespoon butter
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
1 1/3 cups 1% low-fat milk
1 1/4 cups (5 ounces) grated fresh Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese, divided
2 tablespoons 1/3-less-fat cream cheese
1/2 teaspoon salt
4 cups hot cooked fettuccine (8 ounces uncooked pasta)
2 teaspoons chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
Cracked black pepper

Melt butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Add garlic; cook 1 minute, stirring frequently. Stir in flour. Gradually add milk, stirring with a whisk. Cook 6 minutes or until mixture thickens, stirring constantly. Add 1 cup Parmigiano-Reggiano, cream cheese, and salt, stirring with a whisk until cheeses melt. Toss sauce with hot pasta. Sprinkle with remaining 1/4 cup Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese and chopped parsley. Garnish with black pepper, if desired. Serve immediately.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 1 cup)

CALORIES 399 (30% from fat); FAT 13.5g (sat 8g,mono 3.4g,poly 1.1g); PROTEIN 21.3g; CHOLESTEROL 34mg; CALCIUM 451mg; SODIUM 822mg; FIBER 2g; IRON 2.1mg; CARBOHYDRATE 48.9g

Cooking Light, JANUARY 2007

10 Comments »

  1. saij said

    Pasta is my weakness. This looks great, I may be binging on 2 or 3 servings of this!

    Saij

  2. foodiedani said

    Saij-

    Thanks for the comment! I love pasta too! So you can understand why I have to make a lower fat version (although still has 13.5 grams of fat per serving!).

    Dani

  3. Yum it looks so good. Pasta is my number one go to happy food. I always take large portions of creamy pastas because I always want to ingest them – the whole thing smell, taste, texture, look. However after eating for a while I am never able to finish my plate because of the richness of the sauces, no matter how much I desire to. Perhaps a lighter version with a splash of lemon and I can enjoy a satisfying plate.

  4. foodiedani said

    I do hope you try this lighter version! I think you’ll be able to get a nice-sized portion that will satisfy you! Enjoy!

    -Dani

  5. Ya know, I saw this recipe in Cooking Light and I was skeptical of the cream cheese. I didn’t think it was possible to make fettuccine alfredo using anything other than butter and heavy cream. Of course that is insanely fattening, so I’m glad to see the cream cheese works. It certainly looks tasty. The only problem is I doubt I could convince my husband to try it! LOL!

  6. foodiedani said

    Home Cook- You must do what I do: don’t tell him what’s in it until after he tries it 🙂

  7. Sara said

    I have made this dish before……but totally forgot the recipe, thankfully i remembered where it came from originally…you! so yummy, I am making it tonight!!! 🙂

  8. foodiedani said

    Hey Sara,

    Yes, this was a good one! I don’t think I’ve made it since this post! I need to go back and do some repeat dishes!

    Dani

  9. Sara said

    Ha, its a great dish…….actually used to make it a lot more frequently, but cooking for the boyfriend tonight, and he is watching his weight, so i actually use a lof of your recipes. Thank you! 🙂 I am thinking about starting a blog too, maybe it will inspire me to cook more frequently lol.

  10. foodiedani said

    So glad to hear you are using ‘my” recipes! You should get yourself a subscription to Cooking Light.

    And yes! You should start your own blog! Feel free to be a guest writer here!

    Dani

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

