Thanksgiving Re-cap

lasagna.jpgpumpkin-pie.jpg cranberry-orange-tart.jpg

I know, I know, Thanksgiving was two weeks ago! But of course I had to write about what I made! We went to my mother’s this year for Thanksgiving and had the typical (typical for us) holiday fare: turkey, ham, stuffing, mashed and sweet potatoes, corn, chestnuts, breaded broccoli, and lasagna. For dessert, pumpkin, apple, and pecan pie, carrot cake, and my cranberry orange tart. I made the lasagna using the Ronzoni noodles that you don’t have to pre-cook, they go in the pan just as you take them out of the box. I think this makes the lasagna hold up better because the excess water, if you don’t dry the noodles off good enough, makes it limp and not solid. I didn’t really follow a particular recipe. I was going back and forth between the recipe on the Ronzoni box and the recipe on the ricotta container. I did however, make my own gravy (sauce sorry!) for the lasagna. This, is one recipe, I don’t share! I will tell you I believe the secret is keeping it simple and using the best tomatoes. I also like to throw a little red wine in there.  I also made a pumpkin pie, using the recipe on the back of the Libby can. To add my own touch I sprinkled the top with some pumpkin pie spice and I think it gave it a nice, spicy (spicy as in cinnamon, nutmeg) taste. The recipe I will share with you was my Cranberry-Orange Tart from Cooking Light. I found this recipe in the new hardcover holiday cookbook they just published. I am by no means a baker, so I improvised and used Pillsbury pie crust for this as well as the pumpkin pie. I used pecans instead of walnuts and I sprinkled the top with some brown sugar to take away some of the tartness. The result, I think looked better than it tasted. It was very pretty but soooo tart. I actually did enjoy it but you must like cranberries to like this. Overall rating: (for Cranberry-Orange Tart) 3.5 stars

cranberry-orange-tart-close-up.jpg

Cranberry-Orange Tart


Crust:
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons sugar
1/8 teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons chilled butter, cut into small pieces
1/3 cup ice water
Cooking spray
Filling:
1/3 cup orange juice
2 1/2 tablespoons cornstarch
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup orange marmalade
2 tablespoons chopped walnuts, toasted
1 tablespoon grated orange rind
1 (12-ounce) package fresh cranberries
Preheat oven to 425°.To prepare crust, lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour, 2 tablespoons sugar, and salt in a bowl; cut in butter with a pastry blender or 2 knives until mixture resembles coarse meal.Sprinkle surface with ice water, 1 tablespoon at a time; toss with a fork until moist and crumbly (do not form a ball). Gently press mixture into a 4-inch circle on plastic wrap. Cover and chill for 15 minutes.Slightly overlap 2 lengths of plastic wrap on slightly damp surface. Unwrap and place chilled dough on plastic wrap. Cover dough with 2 additional lengths of overlapping plastic wrap. Roll dough, still covered, into a 14-inch circle. Place dough in freezer 5 minutes or until plastic wrap can be easily removed.Remove plastic wrap; fit dough into a 10-inch round removable-bottom tart pan coated with cooking spray. Fold edges under or flute decoratively.To prepare filling, combine juice and cornstarch in a large bowl; stir well with a whisk. Add remaining ingredients; stir well. Pour mixture into prepared pan.Bake at 425° for 20 minutes. Reduce oven temperature to 350° (do not remove tart from oven); bake an additional 35 minutes or until crust is lightly browned. Cool completely on a wire rack.Yield:  10 servingsCALORIES 274 (27% from fat); FAT 8.2g (sat 4.4g,mono 2.2g,poly 1.1g); PROTEIN 2.5g; CHOLESTEROL 19mg; CALCIUM 14mg; SODIUM 105mg; FIBER 2.2g; IRON 1.1mg; CARBOHYDRATE 49.4g Cooking Light, NOVEMBER 2002

Leave a Reply

