Swedish Dumpling “Stoup”

This past Sunday as it was a little chilly and rainy out I thought nothing would be better than a big pot of soup. Because I still hadn’t received my Cooking Light magazine for November, I had been going back to some older recipes. I first made Swedish Dumpling “Stoup” a few months ago after finding it in Rachael Ray’s 365: No Repeats cookbook. I remember liking it very much, but didn’t think my husband did. I tried it again and this time not only did I like it even more but my husband really enjoyed it! It’s Swedish meatballs with egg noodles and veggies in a chicken and beef broth with sour cream stirred in at the very end. The result is a very creamy soup that is delicious. I did adapt the recipe in a few ways. First, Rachael Ray suggests putting the raw meatballs in the soup to cook up. I prefer to cook them in a fry pan beforehand to get the carmelization. I think they come out too mushy the other way and I do not want to undercook them. She also suggests using ground veal or meatloaf mix (beef, veal, pork). The first time I used veal and wasn’t crazy about it. This time I used the meatloaf mix and liked that a whole lot better. I also didn’t have the exact vegetables she mentioned so I used a frozen Italian blend (zucchini, cauliflower, carrots, beans) and that turned out fine as well. Additionally, I used low-fat, low-sodium beef and chicken broth, fat-free sour cream, and yolk-less egg noodles, which again was fine with us. Rachael Ray’s recipes aren’t necessarily low-fat so I usually adapt them. I am posting the recipe below. I am not sure if blogs are allowed to do this so if someone knows they aren’t, let me know and I’ll take it down.

Rating System: 1 star – yuck!, 2 stars- edible but won’t make again, 3 stars – good but not worth making again, 4 stars – yum, make again, 5-YUMMMMM, make every night!

foodiedani- 4 stars, hubby – 4 stars, overall – 4 stars

Rachael Ray’s 365: No Repeats

Swedish Dumpling “Stoup”

        (Serves 4)
        1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil (EVOO) (once around the pan)
        2 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into pieces
        1/2 pound white mushrooms, thinly sliced
        2 celery ribs, finely chopped
        1 cup shredded carrots or 1 large carrot, cut into matchsticks
        1 medium onion, thinly sliced
        1 bay leaf
        Salt and freshly ground black pepper
        2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
        2 cups beef stock or broth
        1 quart chicken stock or broth
        1 pound ground veal or meatloaf mix (ground beef, veal, and pork combined)
        2 rounded teaspoonfuls Dijon mustard
        1 egg, beaten
        1/2 to 2/3 cup plain bread crumbs (about 3 generous handfuls)
        1/2 teaspoon freshly grated or ground nutmeg
        1/2 pound medium or wide egg noodles
        1 cup sour cream
        2 to 3 tablespoons chopped fresh chives or fresh dill, your choice
        2 to 3 tablespoons chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley

Heat a medium soup pot over medium to medium-high heat. Add the EVOO and butter and when the butter melts into the EVOO, add the mushrooms, celery, carrots, onions, and bay leaf. Cook until the mushrooms are tender and the celery, carrots, and onions begin to soften, 7 to 8 minutes. Season with salt and pepper and add the flour. Cook for another minute. Whisk in the beef and chicken stock to combine. Cover the pot and bring to a boil.

While the soup comes to a boil, mix the veal with the mustard, egg, bread crumbs, nutmeg, salt, and pepper. Roll the meat into small balls, 1 inch in diameter, tops. Remove the lid from the soup and add the balls. The dumplings will cook in the soup. After 2 to 3 minutes, stir in the egg noodles and cook for 6 minutes more. Turn off the heat and stir the sour cream into the stoup. Adjust the salt and pepper and fish out the bay leaf. Serve the stoup with a generous sprinkle of either chives or dill and chopped parsley.

Leave a Reply

